PDA

View Full Version : Upgraded Dtivo 3.1 keeps restarting at 2AM



tmembrino
09-27-2003, 02:52 PM
I just completed an upgrade of a Hughes Dtivo S1 including Turbonet and most of the "standard" hacks. I'm having a problem with this unit restarting after the nightly download - it seems to be trying to "upgrade" the software. This unit was built from a known good 3.1 Hughes backup (from my other identical unit).

This morning I checked the 0kernel log and found the following at the end:

Sep 27 06:31:54 (none) kernel: Installing software from SwSystem 2.5.2-01-1-031
Sep 27 06:31:57 (none) kernel: 09/27:06:31:57: /tvbin/installSw.itcl: id of /SwSystem/ACTIVE is 10053658
Sep 27 06:31:57 (none) kernel: 09/27:06:31:57: /tvbin/installSw.itcl: id of /SwSystem/2.5.2-01-1-031 is 6338507
Sep 27 06:31:57 (none) kernel: 09/27:06:31:57: /tvbin/installSw.itcl: Installation of SwSystem 2.5.2-01-1-031 is not safe. Skipping.
Sep 27 06:31:57 (none) kernel: Could not check software installation: System should have rebooted

The unit system is currently running 3.1.0-01-1-031.

It looks to me like it's checking the inactive partition and sees a 2.5 s/w version so it bails out on the "upgrade"? I don't know why the inactive partition would be set to 2.5 though - this Tivo configuration was created last week from a 3.1 backup. And I don't know why it keeps going into Pending Restart status - as if it's downloading an "upgrade" at each daily call.

I'm concerned that if I leave the unit in this state it will eventually "time out" on the Tivo end and possibly disable my account or something equally annoying?

Any help appreciated - my searches on this issue keep coming up dry.

Thanks,

Tim

MuscleNerd
09-27-2003, 04:19 PM
The SwSystemName string of your /State/ServiceConfig object is probably set to 2.5.2-01-1-031. If you change that string to 3.1.0-01-1-031, you'll probably stop seeing the reboots.

The "is not safe" comment is TiVo being smart about things, and not attempting to downgrade you to 2.5.2. It never does an upgrade when the TmsID of the current software (10053658 in your case) is greater than the TmsID of the software wanting to be installed (6338507).

tmembrino
09-27-2003, 04:40 PM
Excellent! MuscleNerd - Thanks a ton for the feedback on this (been driving me nuts!)

I confirmed via Tivoweb that my /State/ServiceConfig object is set as 2.5.2-01-1-031.

Now I need to figure out how to edit this (I know very little about the MFS stuff). I'll start searching around...

If anyone can point me in the right direction for editing this I'd appreciate it.

Thanks again MuscleNerd!

Tim

tmembrino
09-27-2003, 05:40 PM
Wow! feel like I've just been hit by a firehose! I'm trying to get up to speed on MFS - interesting stuff.

My immediate need is to just change the /State/ServiceConfig object to reflect the correct SwSystemName for 3.1 (currently set to 2.5.2-01-1-031) and prevent my nightly reboots.

I've learned about and downloaded dbget and dbset. I'm a little confused still about how to correctly use the dbset command to change the SwSystemName.

I'm also curious if anyone knows if I should change the Version variable in the /State/ServiceConfig object as well?

A little worried here - I'm a very new to MFS and don't want to hose this Tivo - just need to stop these nightly restarts before they cause me other problems.

Thanks for any help.

Tim

MuscleNerd
09-27-2003, 05:49 PM
dbset /State/ServiceConfig SwSystemName 3.1.0-01-1-031

The "version" attribute updates itself automatically everytime you change the object -- don't do anything with this yourself.

After you do the dbset, it may take one or two reboots for your particular problem to go away.

tmembrino
09-27-2003, 06:51 PM
Perfect! Thanks again MuscleNerd! Did the change and rebooted.

I appreciate your help.

Not sure why that object was incorrectly set - I built this Tivo from a 3.1 backup - I did use a different disk to TivoFlash the unit first but it doesn't make sense to me.

Regardless it does seem like this could be related to my problem with nightly restarts.

Tim

tmembrino
09-27-2003, 08:08 PM
Too strange - I forced a daily call - the system completed the call and had the "Pending Restart" message.

I left it alone but the Tivo seems to be acting up more now - random lockups - it rebooted on it's own - I saw the "Loading new software from Tivo Service" splash screen.

Now the system is back up and MFS shows the /State/ServiceConfig object has the SoftwareSystemName variable back to 2.5.2-01-1-031.

I feel like I'm caught in some odd loop.

Tim

MuscleNerd
09-28-2003, 03:10 PM
The SwSystemName is actually set by the daily call. If you're seeing it revert to 2.5.2 after a daily call, then the TiVo service must think that's what you should be running.

I do know of some subscribers who are stuck at 2.5.2, but I think that's because they don't have P4 cards. What kind of access card do you have?

In any event, you may want to call TiVo and ask them to lookup what version software they think you should be running (on that particular box).

tmembrino
09-29-2003, 12:27 PM
Now this is starting to make some sense to me. The DTivo in question is a replacement unit for one I fried during troubleshooting (power supply issues). This one I purchased a few weeks ago off e-bay and it came "as-is" without a functioning drive. I rebuilt the system using a 3.1 image from my other good working DTivo (identical S1 Hughes). Used 51killer to disable the Error#51 problem.

I then had to get a new access card shipped from DirecTV to activate the receiver. They activated the card last week (I'm assuming they sent me a P4 card but would have to check to confirm). I'm guessing the receiver was last used with a 2.5.2 setup prior to being posted on ebay and me buying it.

So in all likelihood you hit the nail on the head MuscleNerd - Tivo service must think this unit should be running 2.5.2.

I'll try calling DirecTV technical support but I'm not optimistic about how the phone call will go - I can just imagine their confusion as I try to explain that I rebuilt the system myself to a newer software version and please stop trying to "send" it 2.5.2.

Am I correct that I need to deal with DirecTV for this issue? I'd prefer to talk with someone at Tivo but I'm guessing they want nothing to do with phone support for DTivo units.

Nothing is simple, eh?

Thanks again for all the help MuscleNerd. This forum and AVS are both incredible.

MuscleNerd
09-29-2003, 02:31 PM
Originally posted by tmembrino
Am I correct that I need to deal with DirecTV for this issue? I'd prefer to talk with someone at Tivo but I'm guessing they want nothing to do with phone support for DTivo units.
You have to somehow get the DTV CSR to hand you over to a "TiVo specialist" at DTV. I don't know the correct incantation to trigger this, but it may be as simple as asking for one directly.

tmembrino
10-02-2003, 05:35 PM
Just wanted to update this thread quickly in the event anyone encounters the same problem I had here.

Fortunately I was lazy in contacting DTV/Tivo as MuscleNerd suggested earlier since my problem has worked out now on it's own (and I avoided dealing with a CSR).

As I explained earlier in this thread after my first attempt to change the SwSystemName from 2.5 to 3.1 and rebooting the Tivo it still had Pending Restart after I forced the next daily call and the SwSystemName was reset to 2.5 after the next reboot.

I did the dbset command again to set the SwSystemName object back to 3.1 and just let the system be for a few days.

I observed that the system never restarted again. I also observed that at one point the SwSysytemName object was set to None. I again left it alone. The next day I saw the variable had been set back to 3.1. I also saw the kernel log showed that the system identified 3.1 was loaded and there was "Nothing to do".

The system hasn't restarted in 4 days and the SwSystemName object is still set to 3.1. Seems like the change finally "stuck" on my second attempt.

Thanks again for all your help with this MuscleNerd.

Tim

grooves12
10-05-2003, 09:14 PM
Ok... It looks like I am experiencing this same problem. My system doesn't reset every night at 2AM. But, when I do reboot I get the "Installing new software" screen. It sits there for about 5 minutes, and then continues.

It does this after EVERY reboot.

I checked the key mentioned above in TivoWeb, and it does indeed say 2.5 is installed on the system... however, I am running 3.1.

Can anyone give me a step-by-step on installing dbset, so that I can modify that key?? I haven't seemed to be able to find it in any of my searches.

tmembrino
10-06-2003, 08:26 PM
grooves12 - check your mail.

I just copied the dbset file to my /var/hack directory (make sure it's somewhere in your path).

Use chmod 755 dbset to set the file as executable.

Then get into tivo shell by issuing the tivosh command (you'll get the % prompt).

Once in tivo shell issue the command MuscleNerd provided in his earlier response;

dbset /State/ServicConfig SwSystemName 3.1.0-01-1-031

Type exit to leave tivo shell.

You probably need to reboot to see the change take effect. If you read the thread you'll see it seemed to take a couple of tries to "stick" in my case.