PDA

View Full Version : Where does Tivo Hard Drive Get Positioned in the Pc ?



TrogSneed
10-07-2003, 05:37 PM
It's probably been answered a hundred times but when I put 25xtreme image on where do I position the hard drive on the Eide cable?
It is a single drive DTivo. Does it become the primary master & replace the C: drive or do you make it a slave drive connected to the primary Eide ?
I am getting ready to pull the trigger on the update this is my last quandry before I try it.
Any help would be greatly appreciate it.
Thanks

fixn278
10-07-2003, 06:45 PM
You can put in anywhere except the primary master spot.

Good luck

TrogSneed
10-07-2003, 07:07 PM
Do you have to use jumpers to make it a slave to the primary master ?

LazyBastard
10-07-2003, 07:32 PM
The actual position on the cable is not relevant as long as you set the jumpers on both drives to their correct master/slave setting. On each IDE port, you must have a master and may have only one slave. You can set both HDDs as master as long as they are not on the same port.