PDA

View Full Version : New Multiswitch?



MR1911
10-12-2003, 09:28 PM
Can anyone suggest a good place to get a powered multiswitch ? Tried ebay ,Google , but there are so many different
kinds and crazy prices . So whats a good place ?a good brand? a good price? I have 2 D-tivos but 1 has a long run of wire , old multi is Rca that came with the dish (oval 2 LNB) and its time to upgrade the multi !

fixn278
10-13-2003, 01:30 AM
If it's an oval dish, then you probably have two dual lnb's which means you have a 5x4 multiswitch.

You can get another 5x4 or go to a 5x8 (prepare for the future)

Any decent powered brand will do. Since you have a long run, make sure and get a powered multiswitch. Spaun, Eagle Aspen, Channelmaster and Perfectvison are good brands.

Remember, when you buy a powered multiswitch, you get what you pay for.


Edit: It just occured to me that I didn't actually answer your question... I bougt all of my multiswitches through yahoo shopping. A decent 5x8 starts at about $99

newbie
10-15-2003, 05:12 PM
I've had good luck with jonline
http://www.stores.ebay.com/id=5278851&ssPageName=L2
Prices are good and shipping is fast.

midnightmaraude
10-30-2003, 11:47 AM
Why go with a 5x8 when you can get a 3x8. No need for that second unsightly dish up there. I scored one for 25.00 from ebay.

fixn278
10-30-2003, 01:01 PM
Originally posted by midnightmaraude
Why go with a 5x8 when you can get a 3x8. No need for that second unsightly dish up there. I scored one for 25.00 from ebay.

huh??? What 2nd dish???

He said he has an oval dish. It requires a 4x or 5x multiswitch to use the two or three installed lnb's. A 3x8 will not accept the inputs from all of his lnb's.