PDA

View Full Version : non powered multiswitch



xtwister
10-18-2003, 01:45 AM
I read somewhere that using non powered multiswitch can burn out the tuners. Is this true? I use a 3x4 getting 90% on both utv tuners and over 90 on another rca receiver.
I dont want to lose a tuner on the 490 because its an awesome feature!

klassic
10-18-2003, 08:18 PM
You probably read it from one of my posts...
I am no expert, just an observer.

I have lost thee tuners with the non powered switch...and lost no tuners since I ditched it....
That's why I'm on this "anti multiswitch" kick. :cool:

I read lots of others who lost tuners and had a non powered switch.
I think it is mostly the LNBP13 chip that is frying..... myopinion is the non powered MS makes the LNBP run too hot.

Why risk it, get a powered multiswitch. If you REALLY need one.

ycrazyy
11-03-2003, 01:04 AM
Hmm... funny enough I had both tuners die on my UTV a while ago (only lasted a year) and since then switched everything to TiVo's... never heard that it could be due to my unpowered multiswitch. New info is good for me, I think I may just order a powered one now! (Mine can be powered but didn't come with a power supply and I can't seem to find an 18V supply that feeds it through an RCA type connector?) If anyone has info on that, I'd really appreciate it!