PDA

View Full Version : Wireless Network for HDVR2



tim2009
10-23-2003, 11:09 PM
After reading a lot of message, I can't seem to find a definite answer on which wireless router and wireless usb network adapter will work for the HDVR2. The cloeset I get is the Belkin unit which I bought router (F5D6231-4) & Wireless USB adapter (F5D6050). The router work fine with the Ethernet adapter (wire) but once I use the wireless, no signal was detected. Please help!!

captain_video
10-24-2003, 08:46 AM
There are threads about ethernet adapter compatibility with S2 DTivos so you might want to look there. There's also a list of compatible adapters in cobelli's guide. If you plan on doing any video extraction you may want to rething using a wireless adapter. The transfer rate is pitifully slow when compared to a Turbonet used in a series 1 Tivo. The USB 2.0 adapters have a higher throughput than the Turbonets so I'd highly recommend going with one of them in a hardwired configuration.

tim2009
10-24-2003, 12:10 PM
Thanks for the reply and info. I will do some more searching. I already get the list from cobelli's guide, which is why I get the Belkin in the first place. I also have an ethernet set up with the usb adapter but just want to do some light stuff (adding hack, tivoweb etc.) without moving the HDVR2 upstair and downstair. It just seem, from what I read so far, S2 is but HDVR2 is not wireless ready. However, I will keep looking. Thanks.

SteveT
10-24-2003, 01:48 PM
I have a LinkSys WUSB11 (v2.6) plugged into my HDVR2 and it works fine for me. I do telnet, tivoweb, and use MFS-FTP for extraction and reinsertion. I'm sure wired would be faster, but I'm happy with the 475k speed I get.

It might be helpful if you'd post the insmod, ifconfig, and route commands that you're using.

tim2009
10-24-2003, 02:53 PM
Thanks for the reply. Here is the command I use for the Belkin:

insmod /lib/modules/usbcore.o
insmod /lib/modules/hc.o
sleep 10
insmod /lib/modules/ehci-hcd.o
ifconfig eth0 192.168.2.2 broadcast 192.168.2.255 netmask 255.255.255.0

I didn't know I need the route command in there. Should I add this in? The ethernet connection work fine with the router without the route command, just the wirless usb adapter doesn't work.

route add default gw 192.168.2.1 netmask 0.0.0.0 metric 1

Is it right? If I get the Lynksys, can you tell me which router did you use? Do I need to adjust the above script?

Thanks.

David Bought
10-24-2003, 02:57 PM
Originally posted by tim2009
Thanks for the reply. Here is the command I use for the Belkin:

insmod /lib/modules/usbcore.o
insmod /lib/modules/hc.o
sleep 10
insmod /lib/modules/ehci-hcd.o
ifconfig eth0 192.168.2.2 broadcast 192.168.2.255 netmask 255.255.255.0

I didn't know I need the route command in there. Should I add this in? The ethernet connection work fine with the router without the route command, just the wirless usb adapter doesn't work.

route add default gw 192.168.2.1 netmask 0.0.0.0 metric 1

Is it right? If I get the Lynksys, can you tell me which router did you use? Do I need to adjust the above script?

Thanks.

1) You're using the wrong set of modules and misspelling one of them

2) You only need to set a default route to access non local networks like the internet

3) Your choice of router/AP should not matter unless you are dealing with 802.11g, which is well known for card/router compatibility issues

tim2009
10-24-2003, 03:04 PM
Thanks for the response, Mr. Bought.

1.My mistake, it is the pegasus.o I was using, don't know why I type the other set.

2. I need to set the route, if I plan to use the ethernet connection to call tivo only? In other word, if I don't, route command is not necessary?

3. I should avoid any router/adapter with 802.11b? Or is it 802.11g?

Thanks.

SteveT
10-24-2003, 03:19 PM
Here's what works for my WUSB11. I have the Linksys AP (I don't know the model):

insmod /var/hack/lib/usbcore.o
insmod /var/hack/lib/usb-ohci.o
insmod /var/hack/lib/usbdfu.o
insmod /var/hack/lib/at76c503.o
insmod /var/hack/lib/at76c503-rfmd.o
sleep 15
ifconfig wlan0 192.168.0.111 netmask 255.255.255.0
route add default gw 192.168.0.1 netmask 0.0.0.0 metric 1
Note that I'm using "wlan0" in the ifconfig command, not "eth0" as you indicate. I'd suggest giving that a try. Hope that helps.

David Bought
10-24-2003, 04:06 PM
Originally posted by tim2009
Thanks for the response, Mr. Bought.

1.My mistake, it is the pegasus.o I was using, don't know why I type the other set.

2. I need to set the route, if I plan to use the ethernet connection to call tivo only? In other word, if I don't, route command is not necessary?

3. I should avoid any router/adapter with 802.11b? Or is it 802.11g?

Thanks.

1) pegasus is wired ethernet

2) For most intents and purposes. route is not needed to talk to your subnet

3) Do your research before you invest in 802.11g. Most 802.11b devices seem to be relatively mature/interoperable.

tim2009
10-25-2003, 12:43 AM
As always, thanks Mr. Bought for the info. I will return the Belkin and get the Linksys tomorrow. Since you use the route command, does it mean you can connect to tivo through your ethernet without the phone line? In any case, thanks Steve for the advice and the code.

tim2009
10-25-2003, 04:05 AM
Steve, got the linksys and type in exactly what you have, I got this msg on the log:

SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
wlan0: unknown interface.
SIOCSIFNETMASK: No such device
SIOCADDRT: Network is unreachable
oslink: 00 00 00 Access Card: Not Inserted Tuner[0]: Not Locked Tuner[1]:
Not Locked
**Transition from unpaired to paired card.**
oslink: 01 00 00 Access Card: Inserted Tuner[0]: Not Locked Tuner[1]:
Not Locked

and further down I got this:

*******************************************************
*** Warning!! Key 5 not in TivoRemote::FHasButton. ***
*** Returning true by default. ***
*******************************************************
*******************************************************
*** Warning!! Key 6 not in TivoRemote::FHasButton. ***
*** Returning true by default. ***
*******************************************************
What do those message mean?
Is that because the IP address is wrong or the wireless usb is just not compatiable with my system? Any suggestion?

Thanks.

SteveT
10-25-2003, 07:29 PM
Originally posted by tim2009
Steve, got the linksys and type in exactly what you have......

Can you be a bit more specific? Did you type the insmod and ifconfig commands from the telnet command line? Did you get any messages onscreen? Is your Linksys WUSB11 version 2.6?

tim2009
10-26-2003, 03:44 AM
Steve, I use editpad to add the line and then ftp over to rc.sysinit.author then chmod -755 rc.sysinit.author.
I try different ip address (my gateway is 192.168.1.1) in the rc.sysinit.author:

ifconfig wlan0 192.168.0.111 netmask 255.255.255.0
also
ifconfig wlan0 192.168.1.255 netmask 255.255.255.0
and
ifconfig wlan0 192.168.1.111 netmask 255.255.255.0

but the result are the same.

Here is the message I get from the screen:

MCP startup complete
usb.c: USB device 2 (vend/prod 0x1915/0x2233) is not claimed by any active driver.
Reserved instruction in traps.c:do_ri, line 874:
$0 : 00000000 c0130000 c0132880 00000001
$4 : 82c4d400 00000000 00000000 00000080
$8 : 82c4d400 8011c664 fffffffe 00002a78
$12: 00000a9e 801de000 00000000 8011c6d0
$16: c01332b8 00000000 00000001 00000001
$20: 834ed920 c01289b0 00000000 c01332d8
$24: b001bc01 00000001
$28: 82b9a000 82b9bdb0 c011ad24 c011b0ac
epc : c0132880
Status: b001bc03
Cause : 00000028
Process insmod (pid: 110, stackpage=82b9a000)
Stack: 00000000 80039be8 10001e18 800355bc 00000000 c011aeb8 82c4d400 c011abe8
82a78000 00000060 10010168 834edb20 00000006 c011ac74 82c4d400 00000000
82c4d600 c011abe8 0000000e 82c4d2e8 82c4d200 c011abe8 c011ac34 c011ac74
82c4d600 00000000 80126e4f c0126607 c01289b8 c011abe8 c01289b8 ffffffea
c011a188 c0131000 100122b8 ffffffea 82a78000 00000060 c01332b8 c0131000
100122b8 ...
Trace: c0132880
Code: 00000000 00000000 00000000 <75736264> 66750000 3c333e75 73626466 752e
633a 20465720
Kernel panic: Die called

Rebooting in 1 seconds..

After that, the HDVR2 will go into reboot over and over again. I double check the WUSB11 and it turns out to be v2.8 and the router is BEFW11S4. The salesperson at CCity assure me it is the same, the AP unit is no longer available which is replaced by the BF unit and WUSB11 v2.8 has replaced the v2.6
Am I out of luck? Should I look for the older model? Any suggestion?

Thanks.

tim2009
10-26-2003, 01:52 PM
One more thing, I track it line by line and find out that when it hit the :

insmod /lib/modules/usbdfu.o

then the stack dump and reboot will happen. I didn't transfer all the files from the ethernet drives (from Cobelli's web site) because for some reason, the ethernet adapter (the wired one) will not take the pegasus.o and usb-ohci.o from the newer one only the one that is from the stock (original file in HDVR2). I wonder if that is the cause of the problem. I hope I am getting close ....

tim2009
10-26-2003, 08:48 PM
I am able to solve the stack dump problem, wrong files. However, still can't get the wireless adapter to work. The light is on but still no bash command from the ethernet connection. Is it the ip address (I am running out of combination to try) or the wrong modules or just it is not compatible with the newer version of the USB? Here is what I have:

#Load ethernet drivers
insmod /lib/modules/usbcore.o
insmod /lib/modules/usb-ohci.o
insmod /lib/modules/usbdfu.o
insmod /lib/modules/at76c503.o
insmod /lib/modules/at76c503-rfmd.o
sleep 15
ifconfig wlan0 192.168.1.111 netmask 255.255.255.0
route add default gw 192.168.1.1 netmask 0.0.0.0 metric 1

Here is the message I get:

loading hacks
Unaligned Access to 0x834fa843 in kernel mode at 0xc0121428
Unaligned Access to 0x834fa843 in kernel mode at 0xc012143c
MCP startup complete
Unaligned Access to 0x834fa9c3 in kernel mode at 0xc0121428
Unaligned Access to 0x834fa9c3 in kernel mode at 0xc012143c
usb.c: USB device 2 (vend/prod 0x1915/0x2233) is not claimed by any active driver.
Calling Run...
APGOpen called
APGInitRead called
APGOpen called
APGInitRead called
DTuneOpen called
ApgLogFrequency( 0 sec )
Finished creating ApgDriverFrameIter
Using a smartSorter!
Creating ApgReader
CamOpen called
CamInitRead called
CamOpen called
CamInitRead called
SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
wlan0: unknown interface.
SIOCSIFNETMASK: No such device
SIOCADDRT: Network is unreachable
rc.sysinit is complete

Anyone has any idea? Please help. Thanks.

David Bought
10-28-2003, 01:29 AM
Originally posted by tim2009
usb.c: USB device 2 (vend/prod 0x1915/0x2233) is not claimed by any active driver.

Your salesperson is a f***ing id&#105;ot and needs to be euthanized. This device ID is not in any of the kernel source files and in all likelihood is not compatible with Linux at all at this point.

Circuit City deserves to be punished for hiring stupid people who wasted your precious time.

1) Disassemble the adapter and post the identifying numbers from each IC here for our information

2) Immerse the adapter's mainboard in salt water overnight

3) Reassemble the adapter and return it to the point of purchase

4) Buy a different adapter

tim2009
10-28-2003, 02:54 AM
Thanks Mr. Bought for the reply. I return the adapter and after searching different forum, I think I got myself the D-Link DWL-120+ and use the D-Link DI-614+ as my router. I think someone said they get it to work, though not posting any script on what is in their hackinit. Here is what I will put in the rc.sysinit.author:
#Load ethernet drivers
insmod /lib/modules/usbcore.o
insmod /lib/modules/usb-ohci.o
insmod /lib/modules/usbdfu.o
insmod /lib/modules/at76c503.o
insmod /lib/modules/at76c503-rfmd.o
sleep 15
ifconfig wlan0 192.168.0.111 netmask 255.255.255.0
route add default gw 192.168.0.1 netmask 0.0.0.0 metric 1

Looking at other people hackinit file (not the same unit); some has this in :
ifconfig wlan0 192.168.0.111 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0

Is the broadcast necessary? Furthermore, some people set it at 192.168.0.1, did it matter if it is 1 or 255?

Thanks.

tytyty
10-28-2003, 01:45 PM
The DWL 120+ is a prisim based device that does not have mips compiled modules released yet. ASFIK

David Bought
10-28-2003, 04:10 PM
Originally posted by tim2009
Thanks Mr. Bought for the reply. I return the adapter and after searching different forum, I think I got myself the D-Link DWL-120+ and use the D-Link DI-614+ as my router. I think someone said they get it to work, though not posting any script on what is in their hackinit. Here is what I will put in the rc.sysinit.author:
#Load ethernet drivers
insmod /lib/modules/usbcore.o
insmod /lib/modules/usb-ohci.o
insmod /lib/modules/usbdfu.o
insmod /lib/modules/at76c503.o
insmod /lib/modules/at76c503-rfmd.o
sleep 15
ifconfig wlan0 192.168.0.111 netmask 255.255.255.0
route add default gw 192.168.0.1 netmask 0.0.0.0 metric 1

Looking at other people hackinit file (not the same unit); some has this in :
ifconfig wlan0 192.168.0.111 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0

Is the broadcast necessary? Furthermore, some people set it at 192.168.0.1, did it matter if it is 1 or 255?

Thanks.

Where did you post the WUSB11 v2.8 IC numbers I requested?

tim2009
10-29-2003, 03:33 AM
Sorry, Mr. Bought, I am so hurry in setting up my wireless ethernet, didn't remember to do that.
Thanks tytyty. Glad to read your post before I open the box (the place charge 25% restocking fee). I think I will give Microsoft MN-110 a shot. I think I read it from other forum that it is working for some member.

imaloserbaby
12-10-2003, 03:27 PM
A bit late now perhaps, but since I have an F5D6050, I should point out that I found the following article stating:

USB Adapters

Atmel at76c503 Driver
at76c503 is a Linux driver for the wlan USB adapter based on the Atmel at76c503 chip. It currently supports ad-hoc mode only. It supports adapters from Atmel, the Belkin F5D6050, Netgear MA101B, and others. see also the Atmel driver page .

Which means the at76c503 (I think described in this thread) should work with it, with the correctly added caveat to use wan0 (or whatever it is) and not eth0. (again referenced in this thread).

http://www.tuxmobil.org/usb_linux.html

Thanks again to the community!

imaloserbaby
12-10-2003, 03:46 PM
Also a friend has the SMC 2662W

(http://www.smc.com/index.cfm?sec=Support&pg=Download-Details&prod=268&site=c)

which even lists a linux driver on their website (which I was impressed to see).

http://at76c503a.berlios.de/devices.html this lists the adapters and their chipset type (I think I saw it referenced somewhere else? Cobelli? Not sure).