PDA

View Full Version : Problem running TyTools



uktivo
11-18-2003, 04:18 PM
I am trying to run TyTools7 on Dual Drive 160G UK Thomson Tivo for the first time.

I am getting the following:

TyTool


Trancode Selected Mode: 0
Ready...
Reading list from the server...
Clear Now Showing List...
Connecting to '192.168.1.200'
Connected...
Getting NowShowing data...
Sorry.. Could not obtain the list.

Telnet



bash-2.02# ./tserver_mfs7
Doing the Lowest PriorityFix...
Priority set...
Waiting for an incomming connection!
SERVER: We got a message! buf = 'SHOWING'
syntax error in expression "*60*60"
while executing
"expr $tz*60*60"
(procedure "get_tzoffset" line 31)
invoked from within
"get_tzoffset $setuptz $daylightsavings"
(procedure "init_db" line 54)
invoked from within
"init_db"
(file "./NowShowing.tcl" line 468)
Waiting for an incomming connection!.

What have I done wrong?? :(

eastwind
11-18-2003, 09:12 PM
Originally posted by uktivo



What have I done wrong?? :(

Generally I would try the following to make sure something is really wrong: (I don't have any experience with the error you are getting.)

Try ftp'ing the NowShowing.tcl file into you TiVo again and make sure it goes in Binary mode (not Auto or Ascii).

Then make sure it is executable on the TiVo (chmod +x NowShowing.tcl).

If that doesn't work I would try rebooting, but I also wouldn't expect that to help much. But sometimes it can help to clean out the pipes.

Last thing I can suggest is to re-download the whole package (current version is 8r3) just to make sure you don't have a corrupted download on your PC.

Let us if you get back up and running and what measures brought about the success.

ew

zahir
11-19-2003, 11:07 AM
This is a timezone problem...

NowShowing.tcl doesn't like TimeZone = 0 and needs to be changed to accept it.

Try editing the NowShowing.tcl file.

Around 200 lines in where it says:

proc get_tzoffset {mfstz dst} {
if { $mfstz < 0 } {

change it to:

proc get_tzoffset {mfstz dst} {
if { $mfstz <= 0 } {

That worked for me.

I'm not sure if the latest versions of NowShowing.tcl have this fix already.

Zahir.

uktivo
11-19-2003, 03:57 PM
thanks eastwind: I double triple checked I was uploading in BINARY and I deffinately am. I tried 8r3 and same error.


Thanks Zahir: I tried that and still the same error.

Anyone know where I am going wrong?

The weird thing is that this has previously worked before I upg my drives ?

zahir
11-19-2003, 11:22 PM
It's almost definitely a timezone issue. The error message is:

syntax error in expression "*60*60"
while executing
"expr $tz*60*60"

so there is something wrong with the variable $tz. If you are in the UK then I think $tz should be 0 so you can hard code it to that.

Just after it says:

proc get_tzoffset {mfstz dst} {
if { $mfstz <= 0 } {
set tz $mfstz
} else {
set tzlist "-5 -6 -7 -8 -9 -10 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 -1 -2 -3 -4 -11 -12"
set tz [lindex $tzlist [expr $mfstz - 1]]
}

Try adding:

set tz 0

This might work...

If not, post your 'proc get_tzoffset' or send me your NowShowing.tcl...

As to why this has happened: You can check TiVo's TimeZone setting by doing the following:

At a Bash prompt type:

tivosh

At the % prompt type:

dumpobj /Setup

you should have the correct TimeZone setting listed there.

type exit to get back to Bash...

Zahir.

uktivo
11-20-2003, 03:16 AM
bash-2.02# tivosh
% dumpobj /Setup
retrying after errTmBackgroundHoldoff ...
retrying after errTmBackgroundHoldoff ...
retrying after errTmBackgroundHoldoff ...
retrying after errTmBackgroundHoldoff ...
retrying after errTmBackgroundHoldoff ...
retrying after errTmBackgroundHoldoff ...
Setup 503328/10 {
BannerTimeout = 0
CallWaitingPrefix = {}
Complete = 7
DialPrefix = {}
DisableAutoRec = 1
EncryptionKeys = SOFTWARE-199801,1,0x314159265358 0000220-199801,1,0x199787 00
00220-199803,1,0x199785 0000220-199806,1,0x199788 DA16Ant-199801,1,0x199806 DA16
Ant-199803,1,0x199804 DA16Ant-199806,1,0x199801 0000206-199801,1,0x199787 000020
6-199803,1,0x199785 0000206-199806,1,0x199788 0001317-199801,1,0x199760 0001317-
199803,1,0x199762 0001317-199806,1,0x199767 0001172-199801,1,0x199757 0001172-19
9803,1,0x199759 0001172-199806,1,0x199754 0001189-199801,1,0x199756 0001189-1998
03,1,0x199758 0001189-199806,1,0x199755 0001190-199801,1,0x199755 0001190-199803
,1,0x199753 0001190-199806,1,0x199756 0001191-199801,1,0x199748 0001191-199803,1
,0x199750 0001191-199806,1,0x199747 0001192-199801,1,0x199747 0001192-199803,1,0
x199745 0001192-199806,1,0x199748 0001193-199801,1,0x199746 0001193-199803,1,0x1
99744 0001193-199806,1,0x199749 0001505-199801,1,0x199777 0001505-199803,1,0x199
779 0001505-199806,1,0x199782
IndexPath = /Setup
InventoryFile = |/TivoData/HeadendInventories/00/0001172/0001172-12375-v328.s
linv|/TivoData/HeadendInventories/DA/EDITAnt/DA16Ant-12375-v16.slinv
LastCallAttempt = 1069230755
LastCallStatus = Succeeded
LastSuccessCall = 1069230755
NextCallAttempt = 1069317265
NoPrivateBackhaul = 0
PostalCode = EDIT
RecordQuality = 75
ScartSettings = 503328/13
ServiceInfo = 503328/11
ServiceState = 3
ServiceStateExpiration = 0
SetupDate = 12265
Source = 503328/984 503328/985
ThumbsLogMagicNumber = 934574144
VCRIrCodeNum = 0
Version = 1886
}
%



I can't see any reference to TimeZone??

http://www.wize.demon.co.uk/misc/NowShowing.tcl

This was taken from the latest zip from Snoopy

zahir
11-20-2003, 08:56 AM
Looks like your TiVo doesn't have it's TimeZone and DaylightSavingsPolicy set normally. I'm not sure how to fix that but for the purposes of TyTool, try hard coding it in NowShowing.tcl.

Try this version.

uktivo
11-20-2003, 02:26 PM
thank you Zahir, that sorted it. Would still like to know why it was a problem, it worked fine before?

mooz
01-22-2004, 09:59 AM
Looks like your TiVo doesn't have it's TimeZone and DaylightSavingsPolicy set normally. I'm not sure how to fix that but for the purposes of TyTool, try hard coding it in NowShowing.tcl.

Try this version.

Woot! Worked for me too
My UK tivo also was without Timezone

thanks Zahir

PortlandPaw
01-25-2004, 11:50 PM
I must say it has been VERY frustrating to try to get to know TyTool and get it to work for me. And I'm not a computer moron.

I've been having the very same trouble with my SA 1:
Connected...
Getting NowShowing data...
Sorry.. Could not obtain the list.

What was particularly frustrating about this was the fact that I had it working before. What changed? What went wrong? Damned if I knew. I won't bore you with all the things I tried and all the time I wasted. Finally, in frustration I tried:

=[tivo:root]-# tserver_mfs7 --h

and got:

tserver_mfs [options]
Version: 1.0
options:
-n No Priority Change (Stay at higher priority...)
-s* Process using '*' rather than ./NowShowing.tcl.
-h help

So I tried starting tserver with the "No Priority Change" option and guess what? It fired up and worked fine! :)

Of course, first I had to figure out how to shut down tserver without a reboot. I used TCS clear-0-clear to see the PIDs of the apps running and then Kill <PID>.

I wish somebody would take on the task of writing some clear, non-technical, non-threatening, non-condescending documentation for TyTool. That would be as much of a contribution to this effort as the program itself, which is a masterpiece on its own merit. But its brilliance is obliterated by the lack of clear directions for usage. :mad:

Sorry for the rant, but after spending hours searching for hours on this and other forums, I'm frustrated that I couldn't unearth a pretty simple fix. And it looks like others are experiencing the same agony.

LaupSavea
12-12-2004, 06:24 PM
I have the same problem. I am in the UK. Cant find any ref to hardcoding the daylight setting.

What program should I use to edit the NowShowing.tcl file before uploading to TIVO? Tried Notepad but this gave compliling errors.

Thanks in advance.

robertchinneck
12-15-2004, 08:40 AM
Hi LaupSavea

I just downloaded the nowshowing that zahir has posted, and viewed it OK in both Wordpad and Visual Studio. They seem to understand the line feeds and carriage returns, whereas notepad does not.

Rob.

robertchinneck
12-15-2004, 08:57 AM
Hi

That <= mod worked for me. Thanks loads.

I downloaded tytool9r17 this morning, because tystudio was giving me problems.

I recently recorded "Lord Of The Rings : The Return of The King" (off Sky Box Office), I found tystudio was producing a ty file that was 9 Gig large, but when processing in tyStudio, only output the first 250Meg chunk - equivalent to maybe the first fsid, to an mpg file?

Anyway getting it now using 9r17 and is seems to be whizzing through the fsid chunks!

Couldn't see a bug fix in the docs about this possible problem with tystudio? Has anyone else experienced size problems on massive ty files?

Rob.

ScottB
12-18-2004, 10:26 AM
Has anyone seen this error when executing tserver?


bash-2.02# ./tserver_mfs
Inconsistency detected by ld.so: dynamic-link.h: 62: elf_get_dynamic_info: Assertion `! "bad dynamic tag"' failed!

I am lost in all of the posts, methods and suggestions. Perhaps I am missing something simple here. I uploaded in BIN, chmod to execute. Do I have to apply the scramble patch first?

I have also tried downloading the .ty files using the mfs_ftp and then used tystudio but it crashes at 50%.

BTW: I have a series 2 running 4.0.1b

I found this online manual that seems pretty good, but you run into trouble when it links back to the forum and it gets confusing again.

Thanks everyone,

ScottB

Jamie
12-18-2004, 10:39 AM
Has anyone seen this error when executing tserver?


bash-2.02# ./tserver_mfs
Inconsistency detected by ld.so: dynamic-link.h: 62: elf_get_dynamic_info: Assertion `! "bad dynamic tag"' failed!

I have seen this error with dynamically linked mips binaries that were cross compiled against a generic glibc, instead of the TiVo modified glibc.

Given the name, this does not appear to be the tserver from TyTool9r18. Please try that version. Alternatively, there is a newer tserver in the mfs_* package in the FILES area.

ScottB
12-18-2004, 12:51 PM
I have tried 3 different version of tserver and I get the same error with each. Unfortunately I am in the "newbie" stage of learning all of the utilities and I had a buddy build my drive for me. Fortunately i'm not a UNIX dummy so I am just trying to catch up.

Thanks,

ScottB

Jamie
12-18-2004, 01:00 PM
I have tried 3 different version of tserver and I get the same error with each. Unfortunately I am in the "newbie" stage of learning all of the utilities and I had a buddy build my drive for me. Fortunately i'm not a UNIX dummy so I am just trying to catch up.
Just to confirm that you are now testing with the TyTool9r18 version, please run md5sum on it. You should get:

bash-2.02# md5sum tserver
d4d580c4218c5f8293afe3b4032195d9 tserver
It might also be interesting to see what dynamically libraries it is using:

bash-2.02# /lib/ld.so.1 --list ./tserver
libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0x2aaa8000)
/lib/ld.so.1 => /lib/ld.so.1 (0x55550000)

ScottB
12-18-2004, 01:29 PM
My version of tserver was not correct. I ftp'd the correct version and now it works. Thanks for having me check that. I "assumed" that I still had the latest code out there and indeed I did not.
Thanks!

Scott

ScottB
12-18-2004, 01:30 PM
Now I get this on the client end:


Connecting to '192.168.1.35'
Connected...
Getting NowShowing data...
Sorry.. Could not obtain the list.


bash-2.02# ./tserver
Doing the Lowest PriorityFix...
Waiting for an incoming connection!
SERVER: We got a message! buf = 'SHOWING'
invalid attribute: TimeZone
while executing
"dbobj $setup get TimeZone"
("uplevel" body line 5)
invoked from within
"uplevel $body"
invoked from within
"transaction {uplevel $body}"
(procedure "RetryTransaction" line 5)
invoked from within
"RetryTransaction {
set setup [db $db open /Setup]

# set defrecquality [dbobj $setup get RecordQuality]
set setuptz [dbobj $setup ..."
(procedure "init_db" line 45)
invoked from within
"init_db"
(file "./NowShowing.tcl" line 480)
Waiting for an incoming connection!

Is this the time zone issue I have read about where the NowShowing.tcl needs to be edited?

Grrrrrr.

ScottB

Jamie
12-18-2004, 01:45 PM
Now I get this on the client end:

Connecting to '192.168.1.35'
Connected...
Getting NowShowing data...
Sorry.. Could not obtain the list.

The NowShowing.tcl distributed with TyTool9r18 has problems with TiVo software 4.X.

You can get a newer NowShowing.tcl here (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?t=38393&highlight=NowShowing.tcl).

Alternatively, there is a newer tserver here (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?t=39487) that does not require an external NowShowing.tcl, and refreshing the show list is faster to boot. If you run this one, run it without any arguments. That is, don't pass a path to NowShowing.tcl on the command line.

ScottB
12-18-2004, 02:19 PM
Thank you very much for your help Jamie. I now have a successful connection and I am pulling a selection down as we speak! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!

We'll see how step 2 challenges me! This is a blast! Who thought that Tivo could be so fun! ;)

ScottB

ScottB
12-18-2004, 09:10 PM
1st DVD Created and tested successfully on the DVD player! Thanks for your help on getting me running in the right direction!

ScottB

Pendragn
01-05-2005, 10:22 AM
Has anyone seen this error when executing tserver?


bash-2.02# ./tserver_mfs
Inconsistency detected by ld.so: dynamic-link.h: 62: elf_get_dynamic_info: Assertion `! "bad dynamic tag"' failed!

I am lost in all of the posts, methods and suggestions. Perhaps I am missing something simple here. I uploaded in BIN, chmod to execute. Do I have to apply the scramble patch first?

I have also tried downloading the .ty files using the mfs_ftp and then used tystudio but it crashes at 50%.

BTW: I have a series 2 running 4.0.1b

I found this online manual that seems pretty good, but you run into trouble when it links back to the forum and it gets confusing again.

Thanks everyone,

ScottB
In my very limited experience, this is caused by using ASC instead of BIN modes of FTP when copying the tserver file over to the TiVo.

tk