PDA

View Full Version : Screwed through Ebay

geminicat
11-20-2003, 06:04 PM
Just recently bought a UTV off of Ebay when I recieved it Tuner 1 had a failure. Should have been more suspecting of the seller. Since alot of the features are not listed. I have a friend that is a master Electronic Engineer that said he will replace the tuner which requires, from all I could read, very good soldering skills. Fortunately he has those skills. Will look around to determine all the parts neede. Just wondering if anybody else has gone through a bad experience with UTV's via Ebay.

xtwister
11-20-2003, 06:56 PM
The ad never said it had two working tuners or even 1.
Thats how people list things on ebay. All the other ads stated either two working tuners or two tuners.

If in doubt or any questions email the seller.

I always do when I am buying something from there. Especially electronics.

Good luck on the repair because two tuners is a great feature!

geminicat
11-20-2003, 08:01 PM
Yeah I hear ya... He never specifically stated the 2 tuners etc but by saying "Ultimate TV. That's what you get when you combine DIRECTV, digital video recording and Internet service from Microsoft." that implies that you get an Ultimate TV system... Ultimate TV's were never made just to be a 1 tuner reciever etc.. but it is a lesson well learned...

xtwister
11-21-2003, 02:23 AM
I agree.. An honest ebayer would state any or all problems with the product that they are selling. Not by ommiting important details. I would still email the guy before you give him feedback and state your concerns about the defective tuner. Maybe he didnt know about it. Some people only have one tuner hooked up to begin with. I know someone who was too lazy to run the extra wire and only uses the one tuner even though they both work for him since I tested it myself at my house.

djohn
11-21-2003, 09:25 AM