PDA

View Full Version : Network drivers install ??



ilkevinli
11-27-2003, 08:57 PM
I need some help :-(

I upgraded my HDVR2 with a new 120 hard drive and I added all the hacks (telenet, TivoWeb, BASH etc ..) and I am able to get BASH on bootup.

I purchased the Linksys USB200M network card.

Can someone please tell me how I load the drivers for the network card and what drivers I should load ??? And also how I enter the IP address of the card and Router ?? Pretty Please ???? Thanks.

ilkevinli
11-28-2003, 05:15 PM
No one ????

pkpss
11-28-2003, 05:44 PM
If you are able to get a bash prompt you'll need to transfer over a couple of files first that will ru the 200m; usbcore.o, hcd.o, ehci-hcd.o, ax8817x.o. Put these files in the /lib/modules directory.

Then type at bash;
insmod /lib/modules/usbcore.o
insmod /lib/modules/hcd.o
insmod /lib/modules/ehci-hcd.o
insmod /lib/modules/ax8817x.o
ipconfig eth0 (IP here) broadcast (IP.255) netmask 255.255.255.255.0

For instance on the last line,

ipconfig eth0 192.168.1.101 broadcast 192.168.1.255 netmask 255.255.255.0

This is assuming you are on a router with your computer being 192.168.1.100

HTH.

ilkevinli
11-28-2003, 06:02 PM
Thank you so much for responding. The only thing I need to know is what command I type to transfer the files to the lib/modules folder from either a CD or the Hard drive. Thanks so much.

pkpss
11-28-2003, 08:05 PM
Here's a step by step to copy from a CD.

Just use the same setup as the Cobelli guide asks for. Primary Master (FAT32 HDD with your files already on it, store them in a directory called drivers for simplicity, do this if you can boot into your OS first then copy the files over), Primary Slave should be a CD drive, then your Tivo drive as the Secondary Master.

Pop the Johnny Deaths CD in and boot up into Linux. Then mount the HDD, and your tivo drive.

mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/c
mount /dev/hdcB /mnt/tivo (where B is the root of the tivo drive)

Then do this,
cp /mnt/c/drivers /mnt/tivo/lib/modules

If you get bash then type what was written up above, if the light on the USB Linksys shines, you've done it correctly.

HTH.
:)

ilkevinli
11-28-2003, 08:57 PM
Thanks a Lot !!!!!