PDA

View Full Version : PING timeout problem



hmuser99
12-27-2003, 01:48 PM
I have setup my Sony T-60 with Extreme2.5 with Kraven's Upgrades, also an Airnet wireless card utilizing a Netgear Wireless PCMCIA card via teraterm and a serial cable. No problems with the installation. I can ping,telnet,ftp, etc...

BUT, the speed is horrible. I can run a ping 192.168.0.200 /t
and yes that is the correct IP address that I assigned the TIVO
and I get about 70% failure rate of pings most of the time, other times it is down to a 20% failure.

My wireless router is about 6 feet from the TIVO box.

Any information on what is causing this problem and the "fix" for it would be GREATLY appreciated.

Reply from 192.168.0.200: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=255
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.0.200: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=255
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.0.200: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=255
Reply from 192.168.0.200: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=255
Reply from 192.168.0.200: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=255
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.0.200: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=255
Reply from 192.168.0.200: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=255
Reply from 192.168.0.200: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=255
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.0.200: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=255
Reply from 192.168.0.200: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=255
Reply from 192.168.0.200: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=255
Reply from 192.168.0.200: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=255
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.0.200: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=255
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Reply from 192.168.0.200: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=255
Reply from 192.168.0.200: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=255

BubbleLamp
12-27-2003, 05:38 PM
Two words, Wireless Sucks.

Ok, so what you need to do is dig into the manual for the Access Point and tweek some of the timeouts or retries, beacon, etc etc.

hmuser99
12-28-2003, 12:30 AM
Two words, Wireless Sucks.

Ok, so what you need to do is dig into the manual for the Access Point and tweek some of the timeouts or retries, beacon, etc etc.



The Netgear card and Netgear Router work fine outside of the Airnet card adapter.. I have used both for 6 months will great results... The problem has to be in the airnet device.

GREEK
12-28-2003, 12:42 AM
regardless of where the problem lies, you are running that card on a tivo now, not a laptop, with linux and a different interface. If the airnet was bad, you probably wouldnt get squat. Bubblelamp is absolutely correct, tweak the settings, or try different drivers..........BTW wireless is slooooooow usually...

AVD
12-28-2003, 03:51 PM
Netgear Wireless PCMCIA card via teraterm and a serial cable.

????

:confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: