PDA

View Full Version : SA Hardware Help



bobtm
01-12-2004, 04:57 PM
Iím having the stuttering problem with my Sony SVR 2000 that has a 30 gig Quantum drive A and a 120 gig Maxtor drive B.

I pulled both drives and backed them up. Then I ran Maxtorís Powermax HD checker up to the low level format test and both drives passed.

I replaced the HD cable and put the Tivo back together. When it powers up the fan is on and the voltage is about 7 vdc. With in 5 minutes the fan shuts off and the voltage is about 1 vdc. Is the fan supposed to run all the time? The status screen shows a temp of 30. I donít remember if the fan was always on.

Could my problem be with the power supply or the motherboard?

Thanks

bobtm
01-20-2004, 12:03 PM
I didnít have a tested back up image so I broke down and bought a new drive, a Western Digital 7200 rpm 80 gig drive. I ran the new drive all weekend without any stuttering problems. The drive runs very warm.

I ran Powermaxís low-level format on both of the old drives without any errors. What a long process without any results.

I installed the backup image on the 120 gig drive and tried it in the Tivo without any stuttering. I will try the 30 gig drive later.

Questions:
1. The internal temp is about 39c and the fan is not on. Is this normal? The voltage supplied to the transistors on the other side of the fan connector is about 11 volts.
2. Will I be able to tell which drive is bad by testing it in the Tivo with a fresh image or is the stuttering problem related to percent of the drive used?
3. If I am able to reproduce the stuttering is the drive toast or is it usable in a pc?

Thanks

GREEK
01-20-2004, 09:29 PM
I test maxtors with the burn in too. I do the full scan first. THen the burn in test with 5 passes. then lowlevel. The crappy part is almost half the bad drives pass the tests anyway. I personally wouldnt put a known bad drive in any of my comps in case of failure and loss of data. If they are still under warranty there are ways to F them up so they warranty them. Run the serial #s on the site to see the warrany status..........

captain_video
01-20-2004, 09:40 PM
It is definitely not normal for the fan not to be on. Check the voltage at the fan connector. I assume you made sure it was plugged in. If there's voltage there then the fan's probably shot. You definitely do not want to run a Tivo without a working fan or you run the risk of overheating it and damaging the drive and/or some of the components on the mainboard.

bobtm
01-21-2004, 12:14 PM
Drive Issue
The problem is I do not know which drive is bad. The Tivo stuttered with the 30 gig original drive A and the 120 gig drive B. Now I am trying the 120 alone as drive A. No stuttering so far. I will try the 30 alone and see if it stutters. Then maybe I will know which drive is bad.

Fan Issue
Yes it is plugged in. When the Tivo boots I have about 7V at the fan connector. When the a few more seconds screen displays the fan stops and the voltage drops to about 1V. The status screen has a max temp of about 38C and the fan does not run.

If I understand this right the fan should be on all the time?
There is no set point in software that controls the fan?
I do not see any fried components on the MB or PS. Is there any suspect components to look for?
I guess I could jump one of the transistors that control the fan or wire it directly to the PS.

Thanks again

planotx
03-19-2004, 04:16 PM
Drive Issue
The problem is I do not know which drive is bad. The Tivo stuttered with the 30 gig original drive A and the 120 gig drive B. Now I am trying the 120 alone as drive A. No stuttering so far. I will try the 30 alone and see if it stutters. Then maybe I will know which drive is bad.
Thanks again

Did your 30 gig stutter when ran alone?

I'm having the same problem as you. My TiVo also re-boots once or twice a day.

captain_video
03-21-2004, 12:00 PM
If it's a power supply problem for a series 1 standalone then you can get an exact replacement power supply for only $4.50 plus S&H from www.allelectronics.com. The item number is CAT# PS-70.

planotx
03-22-2004, 04:32 PM
I apologize, should have stated I have an SAT-60. Hacked:TurboNet, TiVoWeb, tserver. Replaced 15GB 2nd drive with 120GB Maxtor.

I cleaned the white ribbon cable. Problem still exists.

I'm seeing alot of these in the tverr log
Mar 20 00:02:25 (none) TmkDigiSwitch::Erro[172]: Malformed GOP header

This is probably a no brainer, but I'll asked anyway. Are these kernel log messages the smoking gun for my 2nd drive?

Mar 21 21:13:08 (none) kernel: IDE: calling handler with dma_running, altstat=0x51
Mar 21 21:13:08 (none) kernel: IDE: read command for sector 25964864 bailed with DMA running
Mar 21 21:13:08 (none) kernel: hdb: unexpected_intr: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }
Mar 21 21:13:08 (none) kernel: hdb: unexpected_intr: error=0x40 { UncorrectableError }, secCnt=0, LBAsect=9187887
Mar 21 21:13:08 (none) kernel: Stopping immediate on Ide
Mar 21 21:13:08 (none) kernel: hdb: tivo_dma_intr_direct: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }
Mar 21 21:13:08 (none) kernel: hdb: tivo_dma_intr_direct: error=0x40 { UncorrectableError }, secCnt=0, LBAsect=9187887
Mar 21 21:13:19 (none) kernel: IDE: calling handler with dma_running, altstat=0x51
Mar 21 21:13:19 (none) kernel: IDE: read command for sector 25964864 bailed with DMA running
Mar 21 21:13:19 (none) kernel: hdb: unexpected_intr: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }
Mar 21 21:13:19 (none) kernel: hdb: unexpected_intr: error=0x40 { UncorrectableError }, secCnt=0, LBAsect=9187650
Mar 21 21:13:19 (none) kernel: Stopping immediate on Ide
Mar 21 21:13:19 (none) kernel: hdb: tivo_dma_intr_direct: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }
Mar 21 21:13:19 (none) kernel: hdb: tivo_dma_intr_direct: error=0x40 { UncorrectableError }, secCnt=0, LBAsect=9187650
Mar 21 21:15:45 (none) kernel: IDE: calling handler with dma_running, altstat=0x51
Mar 21 21:15:45 (none) kernel: IDE: read command for sector 26021184 bailed with DMA running
Mar 21 21:15:45 (none) kernel: hdb: unexpected_intr: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }
Mar 21 21:15:45 (none) kernel: hdb: unexpected_intr: error=0x40 { UncorrectableError }, secCnt=0, LBAsect=9243989
Mar 21 21:15:45 (none) kernel: Stopping immediate on Ide
Mar 21 21:15:45 (none) kernel: hdb: tivo_dma_intr_direct: status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }
Mar 21 21:15:45 (none) kernel: hdb: tivo_dma_intr_direct: error=0x40 { UncorrectableError }, secCnt=0, LBAsect=9243989
Mar 21 21:25:20 (none) kernel: DISCARD AudioPES 144488 587
Mar 21 21:45:12 (none) kernel: 1 1 0 0
Mar 21 21:45:12 (none) kernel: - 0 1 0 0
Mar 21 21:45:14 (none) kernel: 1 1 0 0
Mar 21 21:45:14 (none) kernel: - 0 1 0 0
Mar 21 21:45:42 (none) kernel: 1 1 0 0
Mar 21 21:45:42 (none) kernel: - 0 1 0 0
Mar 21 21:46:13 (none) kernel: 1 1 0 0
Mar 21 21:46:13 (none) kernel: - 0 1 0 0
Mar 21 21:48:14 (none) kernel: 1 1 0 0
Mar 21 21:48:14 (none) kernel: - 0 1 0 0
Mar 21 21:49:46 (none) kernel: IRPACK_SONY12 disabled
Jan 1 00:00:18 (none) kernel: Loaded 11 symbols from 7 modules.
Jan 1 00:00:18 (none) kernel: Checked-mem pool at 0x806029C0
Jan 1 00:00:18 (none) kernel: New MediaSwitch address map
Jan 1 00:00:18 (none) kernel: Memory configured for 32MB
Jan 1 00:00:18 (none) kernel: CPU clock speed: 72MHz

If so, can I buy another 120 gig, do a DD copy as per hinsdale and put it in my TiVo?

Is there any chance that my power supply is causing the drive to fail?

Thanks. The pausing is making my Wife's soaps a little too suspenseful!

chef
03-04-2005, 12:32 PM
Sorry to hash up an old issue, but I am having the same exact problem. What did you guys do to fix? I have 2 drives, 1 samsung 120GB and another wd 120GB, and I don't want to have to go buy 2 more drives, even if they are only $50 each. I'm getting reboots when I get more recordings than X, just about when the drive fills up...

Let me know what you guys did to fix, if anything?

C

fixn278
03-04-2005, 02:53 PM
Sorry to hash up an old issue, but I am having the same exact problem. What did you guys do to fix? I have 2 drives, 1 samsung 120GB and another wd 120GB, and I don't want to have to go buy 2 more drives, even if they are only $50 each. I'm getting reboots when I get more recordings than X, just about when the drive fills up...

Let me know what you guys did to fix, if anything?

C

The only fix for a bad drive, is a new drive. Even if you manage to mark the bad sectors and bypass them, chances are more will be around the corner.

chef
03-04-2005, 03:14 PM
Ok, thanks. I've been dancing around the issue alot, but I think I'm going to have to actually buy 2 new drives, any suggestion on brands? I've got a Samsung and a WD, I hear Maxtor is bad...

Assuming I get 2 new drives, what is the best way to extract all of the data (including recordings) off of my old drives? I assume I'm going to need some incarnation of dd, but how do I physically arrange the disks on my system.

Right now I've got a cdrom at hda (for booting knoppix or sleeper from cd) and a hard drive at hdb (for storing images). I can throw 2 drives into hdc and hdd, but I'm going to have to shrink a lot of data from the 2 drives to fit on the one that is available (240GB -> 40GB!) and then expand it back out to the 2 new drives. cmdline dd code would help.

Is there an easier way? I'd like to keep my recordings if possible.

C

Jtw_124
03-12-2005, 08:23 AM
Is there an easier way?

Read Hinsdale's How-To closely and you'll see there is a way to simultaneously backup and restore a drive at the same time. The command involves the pipe ("|") character.

Something like: "mfsbackup -[options] - | mfsrestore -[options] -"

There is no way you're going to get 240gigs compressed onto a 40gig drive, so this is the only way to go unless you want to buy another disk for the restoration process.