PDA

View Full Version : Freezes at "Updating database this will take a long time"/"Almost there.."



Twitch17
01-14-2004, 11:10 PM
I have a DSR6000 with a new 2.5xreme image on it and can't get past the "Updating database this will take a long time" message and this is what comes up on Teraterm during the first boot after fresh image..

Starting Trev's rc.sysinit for DirecTiVo BETA 4
warning: can't open /var/mtab: No such file or directory
/dev/hda9 on /var type ext2 (rw)
/dev/hda7 on / type ext2 (rw)
Un-protecting files ...
chattr 1.06, 7-Oct-96 for EXT2 FS 0.5b, 95/08/09
chattr 1.06, 7-Oct-96 for EXT2 FS 0.5b, 95/08/09
chattr 1.06, 7-Oct-96 for EXT2 FS 0.5b, 95/08/09
chattr 1.06, 7-Oct-96 for EXT2 FS 0.5b, 95/08/09
chattr 1.06, 7-Oct-96 for EXT2 FS 0.5b, 95/08/09
chattr 1.06, 7-Oct-96 for EXT2 FS 0.5b, 95/08/09
Checking to see if we need to re-make swap ...
<134>Jan 1 00:00:28 AttachSharedMemoryFile[16]: Can't open key file /var/tmp/fs
mem for attach, errno 2

<150>Jan 1 00:00:28 NmCache[16]: Cache at 0x0x7fee0ca0, array of 100 entries at
0x0x7fee0d28
Switching back kernel and root ...
Restarting ...
bash: no job control in this shell
bash-2.02#


I have let it run 24hrs but it stays froze there. After I unplug and start it back up it goes to "Almost There a few more seconds" and stays there with this bash...

bash: no job control in this shell
bash-2.02#

I have searched through the forums and tried every trick I seen.

Tried good hard drive with 3.1 image running from a good tivo and get "Almost there.." freeze in bad tivo.

Tried the hard drive with 2.5 image from stuck tivo into good tivo and it boots up fine.

Tried different 40 pin cables.

Tried running diagnostics on hard drives.

Tried removing, swapping and cleaning paralax power cable on m/b.

Tried removing battery for 24hrs.

Tried removing battery completly.

Tried adjusting the power supply voltage 5.25/5.05/5.35 "red" 12.25..up and down a bit on yellow.

Tried many differnt hard drives with fresh images, 40 gig quantum, 30/15 gig combo quantums, 160 gig maxtor.


I seen this post in the forums.....

Disabled Modem Test

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hobby,

Take the drive out of your tivo and mount it using Linux.

In the tvbin directory of both file systems (hdX4 and hdX7) there are programs called modemtest and modempatch. Disable these using chmod 000 modemtest and chmod 000 modempatch.

I also commented out the body of the modem test function in rc.sysinit in the /etc directory of the two file systems.

When I rebooted the box, everything started smoothly.



From TeraTerm I tried the chmod 000 modemtest and chomd 000 modempatch from the /tvbin dir and rebooted. It did a couple reboots before getting back to the "Almost there.." screen, but then stayed froze. I wasn't sure what exactly to remove in the rc.sysinit file, so I didn't mess with that. Do you think a bad modem could be the problem? I'm running out of things to try, any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks,
Twitch

tytyty
01-14-2004, 11:37 PM
I prefered to delete modemtest and make a new modemtest with just the line #!/bin/bash then chmod that 755, chmod 000 does not allow execuction of the file which the script is waiting on.

GREEK
01-15-2004, 03:52 AM
you have something holding down the tivo on the IC2 bus. its not modemtest at all, 3.1 doesnt even have modemtest in it so it would boot fine if that was it. You can post your kernel log and tvbin log and I can maybe see it. Offhand, its likely your tuner(s) and or lnbp chips, then possibly the U13 modem controller, then any of the large 5 chips on the baord. Do you have damage anywhere behind the tuners and behind the phone jack? LOOK REALLY CAREFULLY and slowly for a burnt capacitor or chip(s) or chip leg....

cali
01-15-2004, 07:47 AM
Post the last 20 lines of both your logs.

Twitch17
01-15-2004, 11:46 AM
last page of Kernel...

Jan 2 21:46:23 (none) kernel: Checking for additional disk...
Jan 2 21:46:23 (none) kernel: Starting EventSwitcher...
Jan 2 21:46:24 (none) kernel: Start fan control...
Jan 2 21:46:26 (none) kernel: Scanning for phase2 repair scripts
Jan 2 21:46:27 (none) kernel: Checking for database conversions...
Jan 2 21:46:28 (none) kernel: Checking new software installation
Jan 2 21:46:29 (none) kernel: SwSystem 2.5-01-1-001 is already active, nothing
Jan 2 21:46:29 (none) kernel: Scanning for phase3 repair scripts
Jan 2 21:46:29 (none) kernel: Starting Services.
Jan 2 21:46:29 (none) kernel: Scanning for phase4 repair scripts
Jan 2 21:46:29 (none) kernel: /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit: [: missing `]'
Jan 2 21:46:29 (none) kernel: rc.sysinit is complete
Jan 2 21:46:30 (none) kernel: MCP startup complete
Jan 2 21:46:31 (none) kernel: eth0: unknown interface.
Jan 2 21:46:32 (none) kernel: Starting event switcher returns 0x0004000c
Jan 2 21:46:32 (none) kernel: Calling Run...
Jan 2 21:46:33 (none) kernel: ApgLogFrequency( 0 sec )
Jan 2 21:46:33 (none) kernel: Finished creating ApgDriverFrameIter
Jan 2 21:46:33 (none) kernel: Using a smartSorter!
Jan 2 21:46:33 (none) kernel: Creating ApgReader
Jan 2 21:47:02 (none) kernel: Microcode version 00035
Jan 2 21:47:03 (none) kernel: Creating cam input state 0
Jan 2 21:47:03 (none) kernel: Creating cam input state 1

last page of tvlog

Jan 2 21:46:33 (none) EvtService[76]: Launching /tvbin/dbgc-mcp phase 40
Jan 2 21:46:34 (none) EvtSwitcher[76]: Tmk client 8 (pid=124) has attached
Jan 2 21:46:34 (none) EvtSwitcher[76]: Client 8 (dbgc-mcp, pid=124) is service
Jan 2 21:46:34 (none) EvtSwitcher[76]: Client 8 (dbgc-mcp, pid=124), thread 12
Jan 2 21:46:34 (none) EvtSwitcher[76]: Client 8 (dbgc-mcp, pid=124) has asked
Jan 2 21:46:34 (none) EvtSwitcher[76]: Client 8 (dbgc-mcp, pid=124) has asked
Jan 2 21:46:34 (none) EvtSwitcher[76]: Client 8 (dbgc-mcp, pid=124) has asked
Jan 2 21:46:34 (none) EvtSwitcher[76]: Client 8 (dbgc-mcp, pid=124) has asked
Jan 2 21:46:34 (none) EvtSwitcher[76]: Client 8 (dbgc-mcp, pid=124) has asked
Jan 2 21:46:34 (none) EvtSwitcher[76]: Client 8 (dbgc-mcp, pid=124) has asked
Jan 2 21:46:34 (none) DbGc[125]: DbGc::InitialMarkingTimeout: set timeout to 1
Jan 2 21:46:34 (none) DbGcBaseAction[125]: Background->SetTimeout( 1 )
Jan 2 21:46:34 (none) EvtSwitcher[76]: First CLIENT_STARTUP event, current 1,
Jan 2 21:46:34 (none) EvtSwitcher[76]: Another CLIENT_STARTUP event, current 2
Jan 2 21:46:34 (none) EvtSwitcher[76]: Service dbgc-mcp has finished startup
Jan 2 21:46:34 (none) EvtSwitcher[76]: LaunchPhasedService
Jan 2 21:46:34 (none) EvtService[76]: Launching /tvbin/myworld phase 50
Jan 2 21:46:35 (none) EvtSwitcher[76]: Tmk client 9 (pid=127) has attached
Jan 2 21:46:35 (none) EvtSwitcher[76]: Client 9 (My World, pid=127) is service
Jan 2 21:46:35 (none) EvtSwitcher[76]: Client 9 (My World, pid=127), thread 12t
Jan 2 21:46:35 (none) EvtSwitcher[76]: Client 9 (My World, pid=127) has asked p
Jan 2 21:47:03 (none) CamManager[132]: CamManager : Main loop pid: 132
Jan 2 21:47:03 (none) Cam[128]: Initialized css to 49

tytyty
01-15-2004, 12:08 PM
Jan 2 21:46:29 (none) kernel: /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit: [: missing `]'

Looks like your rc.sysinit has an bad command in it, install a stock one, add the bash line and make sure its chmod 755

GREEK
01-16-2004, 01:56 AM
actually thats normal in rc.sysinit, even though it makes you look twice :)


Anyway, now for the bad news.........looks like the tuner(s) fried :(

tytyty
01-16-2004, 02:13 AM
Anyway, now for the bad news.........looks like the tuner(s) fried :(

Ok, Ill bite which line gives you that ?

cali
01-16-2004, 08:46 AM
last page of Kernel...
Jan 2 21:47:03 (none) kernel: Creating cam input state 0
Jan 2 21:47:03 (none) kernel: Creating cam input state 1

last page of tvlog

Jan 2 21:46:35 (none) EvtSwitcher[76]: Client 9 (My World, pid=127) has asked p
Jan 2 21:47:03 (none) CamManager[132]: CamManager : Main loop pid: 132
Jan 2 21:47:03 (none) Cam[128]: Initialized css to 49

Tuners kaput. What I left above indicates a hang on tuner init. Want more info/proof?.....poke around the SW. It could be tuner1 or 2.

tytyty
01-16-2004, 09:06 AM
It would be interesting to hear an analysis of that log and how it relates to tuner failure, not just for myself (thank god I finaly delt with my bad units) but for others.

Cali, I really wish you and GREEK would put toghter a really informative post regarding:

1. Log analysis to determine failure modes.
2. Voltage checks and related locations
3. Power supply testing and tweaking
4. SMT soldering tricks
5. Tuner replacment.

It would make a great sticky for this forum

cali
01-16-2004, 02:27 PM
tyty,

I'm in if Greek is in.

Twitch17
01-16-2004, 03:03 PM
Thanks for all the replies guys! If it is a tuner, is there a way to disable #2 tuner check on startup and and just use the #1 tuner or do you need both to get past the boot even though I would only use the sat 1 input? If it turns out to be tuner #1, I do have friend good at soldering that could swap the two tuners or just move sat 2 to 1 and leave out the bad one all together.

cali
01-18-2004, 10:00 AM
Thanks for all the replies guys! If it is a tuner, is there a way to disable #2 tuner check on startup and and just use the #1 tuner or do you need both to get past the boot even though I would only use the sat 1 input? If it turns out to be tuner #1, I do have friend good at soldering that could swap the two tuners or just move sat 2 to 1 and leave out the bad one all together.
I do not know of a way via SW to swap tuners or disable one of them. I am pretty sure its doable thru myworld or dssapp. Ask the SW guru's that one. The unit will boot with 1 or NO tuners installed.

GREEK
01-18-2004, 05:03 PM
yeah theres probably a way to do it in SW, well beyond my reach into linux :confused: Only problem is very few would wanna use just one tuner, It would all depend on the tuner problem as well, alot of guys end up with 30v problems or lnbp problems and dont realize it......If you got a buddy that can remove replace for you just have him yank a tuner at a time til it boots. I would do a tuner, then its chip, then the othe tuner, then its chip. That way you know which is bad. Usually the chip goes on a bad tuner anyway, the worst is when both tuners die :(
...........I'd be glad to help put together a good sticky up top. I'm game as well. I have alot of respect for cali, he knows his shiiiit, even outside these boxes, I suspect he's a EE by trade :D They should give us mod privs in here ;)

tytyty
01-18-2004, 05:47 PM
GREEK I absolutly agree that both you and Cali would make GREAT moderators in this forum.

Having comunicated with both of you off-forum I know you two are an absolute asset to ddb.

As far as the sticky thread for log deciphering etc.. you guys should create a new thread and make about 10 starter posts to reserve space at the top then fill in aporpriatly .

Im sure you each have idea but something like this

1. Log analysis to determine failure modes.
2. Voltage checks and related locations
3. Power supply testing and tweaking
4. SMT soldering tricks
5. Tuner replacment.

Since you can't each post to same post I suggest setting up the top 10 Cali, GREEK, Cali, GREEK etc etc
just alpabetically there guys....

cali
01-19-2004, 01:44 PM
I have alot of respect for cali, he knows his shiiiit, even outside these boxes, I suspect he's a EE by trade :D

Shush.....
Thanks for the props man! You are no slouch either!!!

As far as getting tips setup, I promise to have something by 1st week of Feb. Ill get something up and pass it onto Greek for his 3 cents, and then we can post it. I would do it this month, but I have a certain SW, I need to get around to loading :)
Too many hobbies and not enough time......
www.srtforums.com Thats me other love :D

Thank god my wife doesnt know about this place. I only have to hear it about the other one cuz she knows about it.