PDA

View Full Version : Duplicate Packets when Pinging from Tivo



Foilingdrool
01-18-2004, 12:40 AM
I am getting Airnet functionality using a Turbonet card in an S1 Dtivo, then connecting it to an 802.11b "Wireless Game Adapter". The unit is a Linksys WGA11B device, that is configured one time by connecting via Enet direct to a PC.

For the most part this setup works fine, however at times it seems that performance is not as good as when I had the "real" Airnet card installed in my DSR6000. Running mfs_ftp I can only get 10 kb/s most of the time.

The Turbonet is set up with a static IP outside the routers DHCP range, the WGA11 DHCP's its address from my SMC 7004VWBR router. My PC that runs telnet, ftp, and tivoweb is a WinXP box, using the built in Intel Pro LAN 10/100 enet to connect to the router.

Here is the route table on the DTivo (see below), no devices on my LAN have duplicate addresses (as observed by the MSBBN monitor) but if I ping from the Tivo to the PC I get Duplicate responses. If I ping the other direction, the ping is clean. Here's the capture of the information.

Route Table:
bash-2.02# route
route_info, afname=inet, options=33
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.2.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 32767 0 0 eth0

bash-2.02# ifconfig
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Bcast:127.255.255.255 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP BROADCAST LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:3584 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0 coll:0

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0B:AE:60:A6:57
inet addr:192.168.2.53 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:686 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:230 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0 coll:0
Interrupt:29

Here is Tivo to PC ping:
bash-2.02# ping 192.168.2.20 -c 10
PING 192.168.2.20 (192.168.2.20): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.2.20: icmp_seq=0 ttl=128 time=2.679 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.2.20: icmp_seq=0 ttl=128 time=6.267 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 192.168.2.20: icmp_seq=0 ttl=128 time=10.781 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 192.168.2.20: icmp_seq=1 ttl=128 time=2.580 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.2.20: icmp_seq=1 ttl=128 time=5.716 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 192.168.2.20: icmp_seq=2 ttl=128 time=2.526 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.2.20: icmp_seq=2 ttl=128 time=18.398 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 192.168.2.20: icmp_seq=3 ttl=128 time=2.579 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.2.20: icmp_seq=3 ttl=128 time=12.224 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 192.168.2.20: icmp_seq=3 ttl=128 time=17.123 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 192.168.2.20: icmp_seq=4 ttl=128 time=2.563 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.2.20: icmp_seq=4 ttl=128 time=12.482 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 192.168.2.20: icmp_seq=4 ttl=128 time=17.329 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 192.168.2.20: icmp_seq=4 ttl=128 time=24.084 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 192.168.2.20: icmp_seq=5 ttl=128 time=2.628 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.2.20: icmp_seq=5 ttl=128 time=22.697 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 192.168.2.20: icmp_seq=5 ttl=128 time=29.172 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 192.168.2.20: icmp_seq=6 ttl=128 time=2.537 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.2.20: icmp_seq=6 ttl=128 time=7.920 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 192.168.2.20: icmp_seq=7 ttl=128 time=2.556 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.2.20: icmp_seq=7 ttl=128 time=41.439 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 192.168.2.20: icmp_seq=8 ttl=128 time=2.598 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.2.20: icmp_seq=8 ttl=128 time=10.557 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 192.168.2.20: icmp_seq=8 ttl=128 time=15.842 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 192.168.2.20: icmp_seq=9 ttl=128 time=3.219 ms

--- 192.168.2.20 ping statistics ---
10 packets transmitted, 10 packets received, +15 duplicates, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max/stddev = 2.526/11.140/41.439 ms


Here is the ping in the opposite direction (PC to Tivo):
C:\windows\ping -n 10 192.168.2.43

Pinging 192.168.2.43 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.2.43: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=255
Reply from 192.168.2.43: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=255
Reply from 192.168.2.43: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=255
Reply from 192.168.2.43: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=255
Reply from 192.168.2.43: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=255
Reply from 192.168.2.43: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=255
Reply from 192.168.2.43: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=255
Reply from 192.168.2.43: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=255
Reply from 192.168.2.43: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=255
Reply from 192.168.2.43: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=255

Ping statistics for 192.168.2.43:
Packets: Sent = 10, Received = 10, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 2ms, Maximum = 3ms, Average = 2ms

Anybody out there have some ideas on this problem. I'd very much appreciate the help of a network guru, I know when I am way out of my league. :-)

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

BubbleLamp
01-18-2004, 12:17 PM
I'll take a wild guess and say you might be "seeing" a neighbor's WiFi network!! If that's the case, you'll probably need to change your SSID on your game adapter and access point. Are you using Ad-hoc, or Network?

Try pulling the plug on the PC and see if you still get replies when pinging from the Tivo. If so, that's probably your problem.

Oh yea, you could also change your network numbering scheme too, to avoid overlapping with the neighbor's.

Foilingdrool
01-18-2004, 12:54 PM
Thanks for the tips.... Question though, wouldn't my WEP key prevent me from accessing a neighbors network? I am using Infrastructure mode in my network. I've tried changing the IP to a different address on the game adapters (I turned off DHCP) but still get the dupes. Remember, if I reverse the direction of the ping (PC to Tivo) the dupes are gone. WTF, I am really stumped on this one!



I'll take a wild guess and say you might be "seeing" a neighbor's WiFi network!! If that's the case, you'll probably need to change your SSID on your game adapter and access point. Are you using Ad-hoc, or Network?

Try pulling the plug on the PC and see if you still get replies when pinging from the Tivo. If so, that's probably your problem.

Oh yea, you could also change your network numbering scheme too, to avoid overlapping with the neighbor's.

Foilingdrool
01-18-2004, 01:16 PM
I just ran nic_config_tivo on both my boxes. I was unaware that apparently all of the adapters ship with the same MAC address (or this was so in my case). The utility allows the user to change the MAC ID, so I set it to a different number (one higher than the first Tivo, I hope at least the folks that make this card reserved a range of MAC ID's). No more dup's and MUCH faster ping times. Thanks for everyones help!


Thanks for the tips.... Question though, wouldn't my WEP key prevent me from accessing a neighbors network? I am using Infrastructure mode in my network. I've tried changing the IP to a different address on the game adapters (I turned off DHCP) but still get the dupes. Remember, if I reverse the direction of the ping (PC to Tivo) the dupes are gone. WTF, I am really stumped on this one!

BubbleLamp
01-18-2004, 09:30 PM
I just ran nic_config_tivo on both my boxes. I was unaware that apparently all of the adapters ship with the same MAC address (or this was so in my case). The utility allows the user to change the MAC ID, so I set it to a different number (one higher than the first Tivo, I hope at least the folks that make this card reserved a range of MAC ID's). No more dup's and MUCH faster ping times. Thanks for everyones help!

You never said you had TWO Tivos. :eek:

Glad you got it straightened out.