PDA

View Full Version : GXEBOT Hung at "Welcome" screen

Barberb12
01-29-2004, 11:14 PM
I have a GXEBOT that hangs at the welcome screen. This is what I know:
The HD is ok. I put it in my working DSR6K, and it booted fine. I did this with the IDE and power cable from the offending GXEBOT, so I assume they are fine.
Yellow wire voltage is 12.3
Red wire voltage is 5.3
The hard drive is spinning. I can hear it.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

GREEK
01-30-2004, 02:09 AM
looks some ways back on my posts or search for edit_bootparms

you may have a hard short on U13, this is the most common hang at welcome. Try reloading the xtreme image and see if the prom flashes, then you know there is communication with the drive.....

Barberb12
01-30-2004, 09:22 PM
I re-extremed the drive per your orders. The only difference was that after the normal, usual time in the "Welcome" screen, the screen flashed greenish yellow for about 2 seconds, then back to "Welcome" screen. I'm a BIG newbie at hardware issues, so I wouldn't know if this showed any communication or not. How would I know if the prom re-flashed? What is my next step? In what situations are a DTiVo worthless?

Loopie111
01-30-2004, 11:58 PM
That flash (color change) that you saw was the image flashing the prom. How long did you let it run after it flashed?

Barberb12
01-31-2004, 07:56 AM
I let it run for hours with no change.

Can someone tell me how to donate to this site? It has been a great help.

GREEK
01-31-2004, 11:48 PM
do as the other suggestion I posted. boot the drive with a xtreme CD, and at the second enter when you get to # prompt type this

edit_bootparms hd? -i <enter>

the ? in hd? is your drive location, like b, c, or d, same as when using it in xtrme. THen press enter after that and you will come back to a # prompt. Shut down and then reinstall. ALSO, try master setting AND cable select if that dont work first. OTherwise, you ahve a hard short or shot IDE interface.

GREEK