PDA

View Full Version : tserver_mfs7 error - address already in use? Now what?



mrrrl
04-08-2004, 08:15 PM
I shutdown my telnet session before I shutdown tserver. Now when I try to start it up I get the following error:

Doing the Lowest PriorityFix...
Priorty set...
Bad binding in the server: Address already in use


So how do I fix this?

TIA

malfunct
04-08-2004, 08:25 PM
I shutdown my telnet session before I shutdown tserver. Now when I try to start it up I get the following error:

Doing the Lowest PriorityFix...
Priorty set...
Bad binding in the server: Address already in use


So how do I fix this?

TIA

First close all instances of the tytool client on the windows pc, this sometimes holds open ports on the client side. Then telnet in to the tivo, use the ps aux command to see what processes are running, if you see tserver in that list take note of its process id. Then type kill <processid> and that should get rid of the old process. Then start tserver as normal.

mrrrl
04-08-2004, 08:40 PM
OK, thanks that did the trick.

I had to use tivosh to get the process id.

Learn something new everyday!

LaupSavea
11-11-2005, 03:55 PM
ps aux doesnt work on my series one TIVO - any suggestions?

Narf54321
11-11-2005, 11:38 PM
ps aux doesnt work on my series one TIVO - any suggestions?

I'm pretty sure the Process Status ( ps ) command doesn't come included with the default TiVo bash. Most of us are probably using Alphawolf's busybox version (or the slightly better "ps-s2"). You'll probably need to search the web for a Linux ps tool compiled for PowerPC (series-1) TiVo. I think v25xtreme has it included.

Or you could try the tivo-shell version:
echo "ps x" | tivosh