PDA

View Full Version : TyTools: Any compression going on?



tronic
04-14-2004, 07:29 PM
I'm still a little new to this but able to get video off the tivo and watch it. I'm using TyTool9r11. Is this pulling the video right off of the tivo in the form that it's on the tivo or is this compressing it in some kind of way?

Also, what do you recommend to extract my video off of the tivo?

dlang
04-14-2004, 08:33 PM
the video on the tivo is already compresses far more efficiantly then anything that's practical on a home PC so none of the tools make any attempt to do any compression themselves

jdiner
04-15-2004, 01:59 AM
Also, what do you recommend to extract my video off of the tivo?
What comes off of any of the tivos is an MPEG-2 data packaged in a wierd way. What TyTool primarily does is repackage it in a new format to make it more useable all the way around.

TyTool is your best bet for extraction and processing from the tivo.

--jdiner