PDA

View Full Version : Hughes SD-DVR40 vs. HDVR2

LordRaziel
04-21-2004, 07:01 PM
I was just wanting to know what everybody thinks of these two dvr's. I was thinking I was getting the HDVR2 but ended up with a SD-DVR40. Will hacking them be the same or entirely diffrent? Any and all help would be greatly apreciated.

captain_video
04-21-2004, 07:39 PM
The HDVR2 is a non-RID unit while the SD-DVR40 is the newer RID model. The RID models have an RID (Receiver ID) chip that's been added as an extra security feature for DTV. Both models can be hacked in exactly the same way and any DTivo OS version later than 3.1.1 can be used on either model. You cannot use the 4.X OS from the S2 standalone models on an RID unit.

LordRaziel
04-21-2004, 07:47 PM
Ok keep in mind I am new to this but should I leave the phone line unhooked if I hack the tivo?

LordRaziel
04-23-2004, 10:51 AM
I got a backup file of a hacked hdvr2 from a buddy of mine and I was just wanting to know if it would be ok to write it to a drive and put it in my sd-dvr40? Also I read on some other threads that you don't wanna hook up the phone line so your mod won't get over wrote with one from tivo but I still wanna be able to buy ppv movies and stuff. One last thing. I read somewhere on a thread that you can give your tivo caller-id with a program. Is this true and if so where might I find it at?

PlainBill
04-23-2004, 11:19 AM
I got a backup file of a hacked hdvr2 from a buddy of mine and I was just wanting to know if it would be ok to write it to a drive and put it in my sd-dvr40? Also I read on some other threads that you don't wanna hook up the phone line so your mod won't get over wrote with one from tivo but I still wanna be able to buy ppv movies and stuff. One last thing. I read somewhere on a thread that you can give your tivo caller-id with a program. Is this true and if so where might I find it at?

You'd be better off using Sleeper's TiVoScripts to hack the drive.
For caller ID, search on 'elseed'.