PDA

View Full Version : Some newbie type ?s

cJAY
05-11-2004, 01:35 PM
Please excuse the total newbie-ness of this post.

First, I am looking for some definitions:

What is it to be an ‘Xtreme image’ of your drive? What makes it so X-treme (no Mountain Dews comments please)?

What is xPlusz? Whats it good for?

Tytools, where can you download?

TivoWeb, what is it, what is it good for?

Why does everyone use Joe as editor, isn’t VI much more prevent in the unix world?

Here is what I have and what I want to do: I have a Philips DSR6000, with a 120Gig drive that I put in a few years ago. Since then I have not kept up with Tivo world. I recently got a few free minutes at work and started looking around again. And came up with some upgrades for myself. I would like to put it a cache/NIC card. I would then like to be able to upload/download video. Also thinking, while I have it open, stick another 120 gig in the box.

So my questions are as follows….

In order to get the files, I need to install tytools.
In order to get tytools, I have to have ftp funning on tivo.
In order to get FTP running on tivo, I need bash.
In order to get bash I need to mount the drive off my pc.

How and when do I install the cache/NIC ? Can I install the drivers while it is mounted to my PC? Is there an image I can use? What is the best method for doing all of that? What other things do I/can I do? Any very user-helpful switches or parms to be set (feel free to PM me)?

A bit about myself, I am fairly familiar with AIX and Solaris. Haven’t used Lynx since collage (10+ years). Not great with hardware, but can hold my own.

TheWickedPriest
05-11-2004, 07:12 PM
Well, not everyone does use joe. vi is available, in two flavors even. But I guess joe is considered easier, esp. for the non-Unix-inclined, of whom there are many here.

TyTool is attached in the second post of this thread. (http://dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?t=34402&page=1&pp=15)