PDA

View Full Version : series 2 tyindex failing



machem
05-29-2004, 10:22 PM
While I am able to grab .ty files from my Series2 using mfs_ftp and so on, and I can use the command-line tytools stuff to fix them up for DVD, I'd like to be able to edit, which means I need indexing (right?). I have installed the tyindex and tyserver onto my tivo and they are the S2 binaries. The tyindex updates the 'nowshowing' file, but then fails at the end of the first file index with a segfault. I have no way of knowing if it is looking for something it can't find, or whatever, but I'm at my wits end here --- tyindex sure doesn't give any info.

I've got these installed at /var/index on the tivo. Here is a sample output:



tivo:/var/index$ ./tyindex
Classic
Found 14 shows.
/var/index/index/481110 not avalible
/var/index/index/511582 not avalible
/var/index/index/511581 not avalible
/var/index/index/511580 not avalible
/var/index/index/511577 not avalible
/var/index/index/505792 not avalible
/var/index/index/481114 not avalible
/var/index/index/481113 not avalible
/var/index/index/453319 not avalible
/var/index/index/476153 not avalible
/var/index/index/453096 not avalible
/var/index/index/476158 not avalible
/var/index/index/476135 not avalible
/var/index/index/452681 not avalible
Need to make 481110 index
Malloc the FSID
Input source: 514550
Still indexing chunk 400 of 1182
Still indexing chunk 600 of 1182
Still indexing chunk 800 of 1182
Still indexing chunk 1000 of 1182
Segmentation fault


and


tivo:/var/index$ ls -lsF tyindex
735 -rwxrwxr-x 1 0 0 747828 May 26 23:02 tyindex*


Anyone got any clue?

Thanks

rung
05-30-2004, 08:40 AM
tyindex is used with tystudio, not tytools. tyokay?

machem
05-30-2004, 12:23 PM
tyindex is used with tystudio, not tytools. tyokay?

Tyanks for the response. Yes, I know that. I didn't say anything about tytools except that I had it installed and the command-line stuffs working on my computer (and they infact come from tystudio). I do in fact know that tyindex and tyserver come off of their own, series-dependent binary package. I also realize that I need tyindex to work before I can use tystudio. Sorry if that confused you.

rung
05-30-2004, 01:44 PM
I had asked chrsturbo who changed this GPL program to publish what changes were made to the source code. Does anyone have the source changes? I could roll those changes into a tydemux executable so you wouldn't need tyindex.

edit: I guess you would still have to make the cut file somehow (and I guess you would need tystudio to do that). Maybe I could re-compile tystudio (I never tried that).

machem
05-30-2004, 04:58 PM
...so the idea here is to have the indexing performed (correctly) by tyeditor/tystudio? That would be a good thing, in order to pull all possible processing off the TiVo. It might be a hassle for OS X types like me, but doable.

tyindex does do part of it's job correctly --- updates the "nowshowing" file in the index/ directory, but otherwise it's a black box that is broken, at least on my TiVo.