PDA

View Full Version : Which gives better quality - TiVo's compression or IC's Compression?

Steverino
05-31-2004, 04:25 PM
I'm new to TyTools and I'd like to start archiving some of my programs. I'd like to fit as many programs on one DVD as possible while still keeping decent(not great) quality. After processing with TyTools, I use Pinnacle Instant Copy(IC) to shrink and burn to DVD. I had trouble with Nero and IC works great and it has the added benefit of compressing the programs so they can fit on one DVD if necessary. Here's my question:

Will I end up with better quality if I set my TiVo to "Best Quality", process with TyTools and then use Instant Copy to compress the programs so they will all fit on one DVD? Or, would I get better quality if I set my TiVo to "Medium Quality" and then Instant Copy wouldn't have to do as much compression? Has anyone experimented to find out what yields the best result?

Steve Smith

compwiz312
05-31-2004, 09:03 PM
I'm new to TyTools and I'd like to start archiving some of my programs. I'd like to fit as many programs on one DVD as possible while still keeping decent(not great) quality. After processing with TyTools, I use Pinnacle Instant Copy(IC) to shrink and burn to DVD. I had trouble with Nero and IC works great and it has the added benefit of compressing the programs so they can fit on one DVD if necessary. Here's my question:

Will I end up with better quality if I set my TiVo to "Best Quality", process with TyTools and then use Instant Copy to compress the programs so they will all fit on one DVD? Or, would I get better quality if I set my TiVo to "Medium Quality" and then Instant Copy wouldn't have to do as much compression? Has anyone experimented to find out what yields the best result?

Steve Smith

I haven't tried it, but I would think Instant Copy would give much better results (I personally use DVD Shrink).

malfunct
05-31-2004, 10:36 PM

Steve Smith