PDA

View Full Version : Slow Network issue, running out of things to try.

thorvain
06-21-2004, 12:59 AM
I just hacked my SA2 unit, starting with sleeper's iso and followed it up with the "after sleeper" info for SA2s; and everything has gone well. I'm new to tivo hacking, but an old hat with linux and networks.

Right now I have the problem of extremly poor network preformance extracting from the tivo. I've searched to death the forums but cannot find a solution. I'm suspecting the Linksys USB100M is the problem, so tomorrow I'm going to test it on it's own.

I've updated the modules, changed switches, tried a 10 base hub, replaced cables, tried from multiple pc's, forced duplex settings, and kicked the cat. I still can't get above a few k per second, no matter the service (ftp, tytools, tivoweb, tyshow, etc). Video streaming is choppy. I moved the stock ifconfig out of the way and I'm using the busybox version, and no problems are noted in the stats.

If it is the linksys, what would be a recommened replacement brand/model? I've read about the 2.0 USB issues the tivo has, and since it's not going to matter in speed I don't see a reason to get a 2.0 adapter. Mine is a very early SA2, so it may not even be usb 2.0 ports on it, from what I've gathered here.

Thanks in advance for any tips or ideas for things to try.

Mike

neel
06-21-2004, 11:33 PM
Still working on the problem, tonight I tried disabling everything but vserver to see if it was a load problem, but that didn't solve it. Also, I noted tivoweb plus uses a good bit of cpu even when you aren't on the site; though this seems to be normal it makes me wonder what it's doing besids listening to a port. Or maybe it's listening too hard, lol.

Sleeper
06-22-2004, 01:57 AM
I recommend the Netgear FA-120.

Also, there is a fix by BTUx9 to correct the CPU usage issue. Search on his name.

neel
06-22-2004, 07:08 PM