PDA

View Full Version : Stand Alone Tivo and DirecTV

arthur
08-28-2001, 07:05 PM
I'm new to Tivo, though not new to hacking world.

I've read a lot of faqs and posts, but am still at a loss.

I have a stand Alone DTV (emu) and Stand Alone Philips Tivo
(still virgin and unplugged)

I know first step is to backup
and then get a bash prompt.
But what do I do after to utilize Tivo fully?

Do I use the fixup script and let Tivo Dial out?
Will it work past 30 days?

Do I use Tivo without hacks for 30 days and then restore a virgin image and use for another 30 days? (does that work?)

Where I live, there's no Tivo service.

Thanks

Arthur

Worf
08-29-2001, 01:38 AM
Standalones won't disable themselves after 30 days, at least not yet (DirecTV limitation? after all, DirecTV essentially dictates what happens to the DirecTiVo...)

Lure
08-29-2001, 08:08 AM
here's the list of actions to perform to get a tivo running outside of the service action.

1. make a backup
2. get a bashprompt
3. bypass setup
4. add channel for composite in
5. (change to PAL/Secam) nevermind if you have ntsc
6. kill nagscreens ( choice)

next is reading alot throu the forums and websites:D :D :D :D

arthur
08-29-2001, 11:22 AM
I appreciate your feedback folks,

Lure,
Reading is no problem. thank you for your step approach,

1- Make a backup (whole faq is detailed enough, no need to bother anybody)
2- get a bashprompt (whole faq is detailed enough, no need to bother naybody)
3- bypass setup (I believe faq does not cover this, and I have to read the forums, I'm sure I'll manage finding details, but if anybody wants to give pointer, I'll accept them with joy, I'll do my part folks, I'll dig, I know the rules)
4- add channel for composite in (this one is confusing me, as I don't understand what it's supposed to do, are you refering to configuring Tivo to select the right source ? SVIDEO/Composite)
5-Change PAL/SECAM NTSC (not an issue)