PDA

View Full Version : Tivo Remote



pir8matt
08-30-2001, 03:53 PM
Hi there everyone. I just bought an open box philips 20-hour Tivo. I know a good bit about them already, but this one has no remote. Does anyone know what universal remotes will work with them, or if a 'learning' remote could pick up the codes from a store's floor demo? Or am I stuck buying one from philips website?

Thanks for any help!

-Matt

Lure
08-30-2001, 05:08 PM
a palm would be a great device for learning....might be cheaper to buy a new tivo remote-)

mrblack51
08-30-2001, 07:33 PM
the radio shack 15-1994 or 15-1995 are programmable universal remotes with a JP1 connector which allows you to upgrade them by hooking them to your pc. among the available upgrades are codes for the tivo.

check out http://www.hifi-remote.com/jp1/ for more info