PDA

View Full Version : NowShowing.tcl which works with Toshiba SD-h400



wen1
08-11-2004, 10:28 PM
Here is my small contrinution back to this board.

Here is a version of Nowshowing.tcl i edited to make it work with my Toshiba SD-H400 and enables extraction via Tytool.

Do not use this file with any other Tivo.

ebeighe
08-17-2004, 05:56 PM
Thanks very much -- I was having exactly the same problem with my Toshiba. Your NowShowing.tcl works like a champ.

It really does pay to search the forums!

Someone (you, even, maybe?) was saying that the getting the timezone changes from version to version (the Toshiba is version 5.1.1b) -- I've already had, in addition to this issue, the problem with tzoffset when starting mfs_ftp. I wonder what else might I run into? (forewarned is forearmed!)

I am trying to keep what amounts to a diary of my Newbie attempts to hack my Toshiba SD-H400 http://thegeek.freeshell.org/tivo/

netscape
08-18-2004, 08:48 AM
I am trying to update version for toshiba. But I am not able to get that. Can you please tell me how to update version?

Thanks


Thanks very much -- I was having exactly the same problem with my Toshiba. Your NowShowing.tcl works like a champ.

It really does pay to search the forums!

Someone (you, even, maybe?) was saying that the getting the timezone changes from version to version (the Toshiba is version 5.1.1b) -- I've already had, in addition to this issue, the problem with tzoffset when starting mfs_ftp. I wonder what else might I run into? (forewarned is forearmed!)

I am trying to keep what amounts to a diary of my Newbie attempts to hack my Toshiba SD-H400 http://thegeek.freeshell.org/tivo/

ebeighe
08-18-2004, 11:19 AM
I am trying to update version for toshiba. But I am not able to get that. Can you please tell me how to update version?

Thanks

hmmmm. You are going to have to be more specific.
Did you check out
what I did to my toshiba (http://thegeek.freeshell.org/tivo/) ?

netscape
08-20-2004, 07:45 AM
I ran Sleeper's ISO to hack my toshiba Tivo. Now I don't know whats my version? I guess kernel version is 2.4.20.

I saw many scripts & utilities mentioning 3.1b, 3.1c & 3.1? , what are those version? software version?

my Software version is 5.1-01-2-264 I am trying to update it to 5.1.1B but I am not able to. I even forced update but it won't take update. Is there something to do with my Western Digital hard drive (120 GB)?

netscape
08-20-2004, 09:11 AM
Also did anyone tried increasing buffer time from 30 mins to 1 hour or more? I tried bufferhack 2.3b but its no good for me.

ebeighe
08-22-2004, 05:35 PM
I ran Sleeper's ISO to hack my toshiba Tivo. Now I don't know whats my version? I guess kernel version is 2.4.20.

I saw many scripts & utilities mentioning 3.1b, 3.1c & 3.1? , what are those version? software version?

my Software version is 5.1-01-2-264 I am trying to update it to 5.1.1B but I am not able to. I even forced update but it won't take update. Is there something to do with my Western Digital hard drive (120 GB)?

Mine is 5.1.1b -- the update came, if i recall correctly, on the second day. In other words the day after i did the inital setup. (which was well before i ever hacked mine)
This is just a guess: maybe you have to wait to hack until after you have received the update?
Yes, 3.1b, etc, refers to software versions, that run on other hardware -- from what i gather, all Toshiba SD-H400's are version 5.
My kernel version is also 2.4.20 but that doesn't seem to come up very often -- not sure why.

abba
09-01-2004, 09:11 PM
Is there any way to hack this toshiba besides physically removing the drive or opening the unit?

I only need to copy a .tcl file for fortec. Not concerned about anything else.

Thanks

psxboy
09-02-2004, 10:40 AM
I ran Sleeper's ISO to hack my toshiba Tivo. ... my Software version is 5.1-01-2-264 I am trying to update it to 5.1.1B but I am not able to. I even forced update but it won't take update. Is there something to do with my Western Digital hard drive (120 GB)?
Sleeper's ISO sets "upgradesoftware=false" which prevents the updates from automatically installing. See this thread (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?p=150800) for suggestions on how to upgrade a system that's been "sleepered".



Is there any way to hack this toshiba besides physically removing the drive or opening the unit?

I only need to copy a .tcl file for fortec. Not concerned about anything else.

No... there's no way in until you physically remove the drive & hack it so as to bypass the security and allow changes like this in the first place.

-psxboy

abba
09-11-2004, 03:01 PM
I was able to run through the process and place the new drive in my TIVO.

But now, the Tivo goes through these steps and is stuck in a cycle.

"Welcome. Powering up....."

then some green lines on half the screen and then dotted lines on left of screen and then goes back to

"Welcome. Powering up...."

I have repeated backup restore process twice, but getting the same error.

Any ideas.....

wen1
09-11-2004, 07:38 PM
I ran into similar issue. Here is how i solved it. Your issue might be different.

i followed the normal process "sky..." described using "sleepers ISO. to load the backup image.]
http://dealdatabase.com/forum/showpost.php?p=172517&postcount=12

But before i booted it up. I cleaned up the rc.sysinit file as described in another post. Link is not handy.

Then it booted up fine. Then i added other stuff i neede to the sysinit file.

sl243
12-01-2004, 05:24 AM
You rock Thank you for this Nowshowing.tcl. I was so frustrated with my sd-h400 and searching forum threads till i finally dug this post up and bada boom its working perfectly.

Just wanted to post a big thanks :)