PDA

View Full Version : Wow.

MunchE
10-31-2004, 08:39 AM
So, I've been reading around on here a lot, looking to mod my TiVo for extraction and whatnot, since it would make it a lot more useful for me. This is the most common forum linked, so I read around a lot.

I'm pretty astounded.

Of all of the modding communities I've ever seen, this has to be the worst. It looks like all of the hacks are made purposely unfriendly to people just to force them to "learn" so they can be part of your club. I am far from a novice, but it seems the things that make this easier (sleeper's iso) are frowned upon, and they tell everyone to go learn how to do it all manually. Wtf? I want to extract video from my tivo, not learn the inner workings of it. It was hopefully an ease of use thing, preventing me from having to get a capture card and rip that way. But it seems setting up a PVR box with a capture card is not only going to be easier, but have a community with a lot better attitude.

I've spent a lot of time reading posts on here tonight, and I consistently see an attitude from the people in charge that everyone else is someone who needs to learn the inner workings of tivo, or they don't DESERVE to be able to hack it. "enjoy your stock tivo" is said over and over again.

It really amazes me that a community can be so immature, both in the advancement sense (with the crudeness of all of the hacks) and in the attitude sense.

As a complete TiVo newbie on the outside looking in, I can say that I'm stepping away from this forum and never coming back. Maybe there's another forum on the internet that doesn't have this bad attitude...great, hope I find it.