PDA

View Full Version : Latest build of XBMC and a Tivo



sheriff
11-14-2004, 05:18 PM
I thought I would just let those who do not know about this nice little new feature in XBMC.
If you edit the XboxMediaCenter.xml you will see a string under video that looks like this:

<bookmark>
<name>Auto-Discover XBMSP Network Shares</name>
<path>xbms://</path>
</bookmark>

Edit this to make it look like this

<bookmark>
<name>Tivo</name>
<path>xbms://your tivo ip:1400/</path>
</bookmark>

when in xbox media center and you go under video's and select this and viola you now can watch live tv feeds from the tivo (either tuner) or watch your recordings.
Very slick I thought!!
Make sure of course your tivo is running ccxstream or this will not work.

Sheriff

dB02
11-14-2004, 06:14 PM
I am going to have to cehck this out.. i tried TivoX before, is this better?

dB02
11-14-2004, 06:32 PM
When I run it, nothing shows up... my ccxstream output on telnet says


doing dir on 'NowShowing'
listing files
doing dir on ''
reootdir: /

etc

any idea whats wrong?

dB02
11-14-2004, 07:38 PM
nm, all working now, just a ccxstream problem...

too bad shows have to be basic quality to run over the wireless network for me.. .eh that sucks

sheriff
11-14-2004, 11:07 PM
Well so far I really like this! I dont know if it luck or what but I dont get audio out of sinc problems like I did with tivoX. thought this was because of ccxstream but maybe not all of it.

Sheriff

dB02
11-16-2004, 06:44 PM
i still have problems but i think it is because of the wireless

dB02
11-16-2004, 10:45 PM
Think upgrading to wireless G would help? has ne1 tried it?

mavrcksd
11-18-2004, 01:01 PM
I went the Wireless G turbo Dlink mode with 108mbps... I know it's not a true 108... But it definately helps..

I have an access point on my main wired network, and it's the Master AP for the 2 tivo AP's...

Works well...

However, if you decide to extract at the same time... the first one you start gets the most bandwidth and the other uses about 50% of the first one... so .... overall i'm happy with the setup, and NO WIRES.

dB02
11-18-2004, 06:24 PM
Can you stream to xbox at good quality?
Like any skipping/stuttering? At each quality? Right now only one that runs smooth is Basic.

Couch Potatoe
11-19-2004, 01:59 PM
Hmm - I can see/play my recordings but not Live TV (UK series 1 Tivo) - what else needs to be on the Tivo apart from CCXSTream ?? and what (where) is the latest version of CCXSTream I should be using ? K

dB02
11-19-2004, 06:51 PM
I cant do Live TV, but i can do NowShowing

what is up w/ umm wireless g vs b... anyone used G?

BAHitman
11-21-2004, 07:53 PM
I cant do Live TV, but i can do NowShowing

what is up w/ umm wireless g vs b... anyone used G?


802.11b uses DSSS modulation, and has a link rate of up to 11MB/s (1, 2, 5.5, and 11). Your data throughput is roughly half of that (5.5-6Mbit/Sec at 11)

802.11g uses OFDM modulation, and has a link rate of up to 54MB/S (6, 9, 12, 18, 24, 36, 48, and 54). Your data throughput is roughlt 40% of that (18-22Mbit at 54). There is a little more overhead with 802.11g, and if you ahve an 802.11b device, G slows down to match.

The turbo modes are vendor specific as they don't meet the 802.11g spec. If you use one of these, buy your devices from the same vendor (d-link or linksys, etc...) as they typically won't work at the turbo speeds with each other.

dB02
11-22-2004, 06:21 PM
So would streaming from Tivo --> XBMC be more effieicent? Like would it make a noticable difference in playback?

BAHitman
11-22-2004, 09:34 PM
So would streaming from Tivo --> XBMC be more effieicent? Like would it make a noticable difference in playback?

generally, faster is better. For DirecTivo, I get around 1GB/Hour. that's 17.8MB/Min (1GB/60 Minutes). That's 298268 Bytes/Second (17.8MB/60 Seconds). That's 2.386Mbit/Second(298268 * 8 bits in a byte) .

Assuming you have 802.11b at a link speed of 5.5MBit/Second, and you achieve around half of that in real throughput... you are loading it down. any other traffic on your wireless will kill you. if you have 11mbit/second link, you are fine unless you have some interferance or something. if you have 1 or 2Mbit Link, you are not able to achieve thorughput enough to stream. 802.11g can sustain that throughput at a link of 9Mbit/second or higher...

again, this makes an assumption that your interferance is low. the more "noise" you have the lower your throughput will be...

dB02
11-23-2004, 07:54 AM
Yeah hmmm, only thing i can stream smoothly is basic quality recordings

Vadim
11-23-2004, 04:02 PM
Wow, I didn't notice that XBMC had that already, I been using it for quite some time now... I'll have to check this one out..

Teke
11-25-2004, 03:10 PM
I was just wondering does the xbox comminicate will all of them. The model number I don't have but it is a Hughes Directv Tivo with Dual Tuners. Can someone help.

Teke

sheriff
11-25-2004, 05:17 PM
I have two Direct Tivo's in the house and it see's both of them and also shows and can play from all tuners.
I have not messed with it to much but the live tv feature is not live. It is like a cache of the live stream. anyone who feels like figuring out how far back it is plaing the cached live stream please let us know ;)

Sheriff

bato
11-25-2004, 09:37 PM
So now the only thing missing is a way to change channels from XBMC, right?

dB02
11-26-2004, 01:01 AM
I am guessing that the Live TV is just the cache of how much you can rewind on LiveTV on the tivo....

But I had it working but i think i switched versions and now its not wroking.. what build does it require????

I am going to try and run a ethernet wire down to my tivo for this

sheriff
11-26-2004, 10:33 PM
I am currently using the 11.15.2004 release and it works fine

Sheriff

tvtyme
12-02-2004, 06:51 PM
I have two Direct Tivo's in the house and it see's both of them and also shows and can play from all tuners.
I have not messed with it to much but the live tv feature is not live. It is like a cache of the live stream. anyone who feels like figuring out how far back it is plaing the cached live stream please let us know ;)

Sheriff

The default is 30 mins. To change it, do the bufferhack:
http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?t=37240

If you have enough disc space, you can pause long enough to run to the store...

L8r

invader zog
07-26-2006, 02:33 AM
I've noticed some "ghosting" (it looks like interlace related issues) when using XBMC to play back video (at least for when playing back live TV)... any suggestions?

I tried futzing w/ the interlace/de-interlace filter settings but couldn't seem to do anything but make it worse

robertsv
07-23-2008, 04:06 AM
Well its great to know about this site which helps me a lot and also upgrade my knowledge as well. I don't know if it luck or what but I don't get audio out of sinc problems like I did with tivoX. thought this was because of ccxstream but maybe not all of it.
==================
Robert
Link Building (http://www.widecircles.com rel="dofollow")