PDA

View Full Version : Prevent software upgrades?

JoshFink
01-05-2005, 01:53 PM
Ok, I've got my Tivo hacked and everything seems to work great. There is a ton of great information on these boards.

One thing that concerns me that I can't find the answer for though is what happens when Tivo sends down a software upgrade. From what I've read it looks like it will take out all of my hacks.

How do I prevent a software upgrade on my tivo? Both are Series 1 DirecTivo's.

Thanks for the help

Josh

Montaņo
01-05-2005, 04:01 PM
Exactly how did you hack your tivo?

JoshFink
01-05-2005, 04:31 PM
Used the instructions from http://tivo.stevejenkins.com/network_cd.html

Josh

propman07
01-05-2005, 11:33 PM
Josh-

I am no expert, but I can tell you what I am doing, which seems to work. I know that if my information isn't correct, someone here with more knowledge will be more than happy to correct me.

Try to do a search for nosdd. It's a script that removes the recordings in the To Do list with the title "Tivo Service Data". I run it (per the instructions) via cron. You may need to install cron on your system as well. Good luck, and the search button is your friend.

JoshFink
01-05-2005, 11:35 PM
Thanks for the post. You have no idea how much i've been reading. i'm actually getting yelled at by my girlfriend for spending so much time reading in front of the computer.. Go figure.. :)

Anyways, I'll check it out. I've got 95% of the info I need (I hope), I'm just looking to make sure i have all of my bases covered.

Josh

hayreass
01-05-2005, 11:36 PM
Search around for upgradesoftware=false.
One method is to get that added to your bootpage parameters.

JoshFink
01-05-2005, 11:44 PM
I was just looking into that as a matter of fact and got sidetracked on six other threads...

I'm still doing the searching on it. It looks like upgradesoftware=false will still download the updates but just not install them. Sound about right? need more info so it was a basic understanding..