PDA

View Full Version : fixup



racingsupperdav
09-26-2001, 02:03 AM
I,am not asking for a free ride I just need a little help getting over this (Two day) hump of copying the windows text file (fixup) from floppy to /var/tmp I,am very Linux stupid I,am using a floppy boot with my tivo drive in the computer I,am at the bash# prompt what next?

zeek
09-26-2001, 10:45 AM
You need to mount the floppy before you can cd to it
you need to mount the harddrive before you can write to it.

cd /mnt
mkdir floppy
mkdir hd
mount /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy
mount /dev/hd0 /mnt/hd
cd /mnt/floppy
now cd to the directory on the floppy with fixup02c
cp fixup02c /mnt/hd/var/tmp
cd \
umount /mnt/floppy
umount /mnt/hd


zeek

racingsupperdav
09-26-2001, 12:57 PM
mount /dev/hd0 /mnt/hd

it says theirs not hd0 i changer this to mount /dev/hdc4 /mnt/hd this let me mount it


now cd to the directory on the floppy with fixup02c

I,am lost hear I have the file fixup02c (windows text file dos name fixup02c.txt) in the floppy disk it is not in a folder on the disk I just grabbed and dropped it in windows from c drive to a drive I know cd is change directory what is the dir?

Thanks

zeek
09-26-2001, 01:59 PM
yeah... /hdc4


I dont know what folder you put fixup02c in... maybe it's in the root I don't know.

You'll want to remove the .txt extension from fixup. I don't think Linux really cares but you dont need it.

Glitched
09-26-2001, 03:33 PM
you could also just send it through your serial connection, through a telnet session, using z-modem....... im assuming you have a bash prompt!!

racingsupperdav
09-26-2001, 06:01 PM
I have lost my serial cable can I buy one? is it easier? or should I keep cracking at this? tivo hard drive (hdc) in the computer using floppy boot (Dylan's Linux Boot Disk & Mike's BlessTiVo program). I type in root at login. can mkdir on hdc4 and fd0. Can mount hdc4 and fd0 but. can not copy cp fixup02c /mnt/hdc4/var/tmp it just keep's saying no such file or directory. I know /var/tmp is their and fixup02c is in the root of my floppy. no mater what I do I can not get to the file fixup02c (windows txt file, that is named fixup02c in windows property's says it,is dos name fixup02c.txt) I know I do not explain things to well hope you guys can help


Thanks

Electron
09-26-2001, 08:43 PM
Your var/tmp files are on hdc9

Try this:

Put Fixup02c.tcl on your floppy in the root.
If it is already there rename it fixup02c.tcl if it is fixup02c.txt.

Connect your tivo drive to the secondary ide cable as the master.

boot using the boot disk.

type the following:

mkdir dos
mkdir temp

{put the floppy with fixup02c.tcl in the a: drive}

mount /dev/fd0 /dos
mount /dev/hdc9 /temp
cd dos
ls
{you should see fixup02c.tcl listed}
{if so type:}

cp fixup02c.tcl /temp/tmp

cd\

cd temp
cd tmp
ls
{you should see fixup02c.tcl listed here now}

{ You will have to do chmod +x fixup02c.tcl to make executable}
{chmod is not on the boot disk but it is on the boot cd}

cd\
umount /dos
umount /temp


Now follow the other threads about fixup to finish up and make it run.



Electron

racingsupperdav
09-27-2001, 12:44 AM
ya I got it. thanks for everyone's help. one more question. I know I need to edit the rc.sysinit file to point to the loop file that points to the fixup file. is the rc.sysinit in dev/hdc4 /mnt/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit if so I found it know were in this large file do I edit my pointer to the loop file?

racingsupperdav
09-27-2001, 02:28 AM
I made fixup02c.tcl executable with chmod +x in the /temp/tmp know how do I run it?

Electron
09-27-2001, 08:29 AM
Read the thread a few below this one:

Fixup--What am I missing


http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=3601&perpage=15&pagenumber=2

There are several ways to do it.

There is also another thread where you edit your /tvlib/tcl/tv/TClient-lib.itcl File.
It works great, But you must run it another way first if it is a virgin unit that has never called home. If it has called in and the inital setup is done then the TClient mod works perfect.

That thread is on this forum somewhere But I don't recall the Topic.

Also don't forget you must modify the Fixup02c.tcl script
dbobj $sobj set Complete 7
7 Is the value for a Dtivo.

You can edit it with Joe since it is already in your /var/tmp
Just mount /dev/hdc9 /(Whatever dir you wnat )
then cd (Your Dir )
cd tmp
ls
Your fixup02c.tcl file should be there.

Type:
Joe fixup02c.tcl
Edit the file and save.

Electron

racingsupperdav
09-27-2001, 12:29 PM
7 Is the value for a Dtivo

what is value? how do I find the value for my dtivo?

Glitched
09-27-2001, 04:01 PM
you can order a serial cable from tivo...its $5 ... basically its gonna be a LOT harder to do this without a bash prompt...
just my 2cents:rolleyes:

Electron
09-27-2001, 07:24 PM
Open the fixup02c.tcl file with Joe Or a text editor in windows.

Look for: ( It's about halfway down )

# dbobj $sobj set Complete 1


Change it to:
dbobj $sobj set Complete 7

Save the file.

Read the other fixup threads I pointed out to you before.


Electron

racingsupperdav
09-27-2001, 11:39 PM
all most their. how do I find out how many spots I am mounted at so I can umount everything I,am also having problems getting chattr +i to work it said chattr: command not found. i load chattr like this

1st, you'll need to copy the four *.gz files onto a Blank DOS diskette:
Libext.gz
Libcom.gz
Libe2p.gz
Chattr.gz

2nd, boot up Dylan's Bootdisk. After it's finished booting remove Dylan's Bootdisk. Then insert the DOS disk containing the four *.gz files.

3rd, mount the DOS floppy with this command:
mount /dev/fd0 /mnt

4th, make a temporary directory and copy the files from the DOS diskette over:
mkdir /temp
cd /mnt
cp * /temp

5th, decompress the *.gz files into their correct filenames with these commands:
cd /temp
gzip -dN *


i also did this





Login as root.

Put the Floppy with chattr flies in drive A:

mkdir /dos
mkdir /temp

mount /dev/fd0 /dos

cd /dos
cp * /temp
cd/

cd temp
gzip -iN *

cp chattr /bin
cp lib* /lib

Electron
09-28-2001, 09:59 AM
Type mount and hit enter it will show what is mounted.



Electron

racingsupperdav
09-28-2001, 12:37 PM
every thing is done put fixup02c.tcl in dev/hdc9 var/tmp chmod and chattr the file
then joe edit TClient with
}
puts $fd "TClient::$phase:retcode $retcode"
puts $fd "TClient::backHaulDone $backHaulDone"
if [catch {close $fd} res] {
puts "TClient: failed to close $tclientResFile: $res"
}
delete object srBlock
delete object tcBlock

/var/tmp/fixup02c.tcl

sync
exit 0



Then do chattr +i TClient...

then waited 4 or 5 hours for it to make daily call. it did at 4:55 this morning but it says daily call failed unknown error last successful call was on .

Glitched
09-28-2001, 02:26 PM
i personally never could get that method to work for me, on the other hand you can edit the TClient.lib*(hehe like the star dont ya :D ) this method seems to work like a charm... do it this way, it works alot better(if the other method works at all) :rolleyes:

http://dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=4006


your almost there ;)

racingsupperdav
09-28-2001, 02:54 PM
I chattr the file TClient-lib.tcl now I need to edit it again how do I change it from a read only file

1010
09-29-2001, 10:19 PM
i have tried to use the steps below and getting the error messages. please let me know what im doing wrong.


thanks


*****************************************************

Your var/tmp files are on hdc9

Try this:

Put Fixup02c.tcl on your floppy in the root.
If it is already there rename it fixup02c.tcl if it is fixup02c.txt.

Connect your tivo drive to the secondary ide cable as the master.

boot using the boot disk. (USING TIVO MAD DISK AND HITTING CTRL+C ENTER)

type the following:

mkdir dos
mkdir temp

{put the floppy with fixup02c.tcl in the a: drive}

mount /dev/fd0 /dos
mount /dev/hdc9 /temp (AT THIS POINT I GET THE MESSAGE
"ext2 -fs warning: mounting unchecked fs, running e2fskis recommended")
cd dos
ls (at this point i get "is: not found")

(i stoped at this point )

Electron
09-30-2001, 08:02 AM
I have never used the Tivo Mad boot disk I am not sure it has the ls function on it.

Try doing it by booting with Dylan's Bootdisk.

You can also use the Boot CD to copy and edit the fixup files
But You have to boot with Dylan's Bootdisk to Use the chattr
files as the boot cd wont work with the version of chattr that
is posted for download in the other thread.


Electron

racingsupperdav
09-30-2001, 08:57 PM
Thanks Electron Glitched zeek and all others for all your help

you da man










;) ;) ;) ;) :)