PDA

View Full Version : Using DirecTiVo AS an emulator

monkeyboy
09-30-2001, 11:31 PM
Has anyone looked into using their DirecTiVo as an emulation computer in addition to it's DirecTiVo duties? I have been trying to think of what it would take, but unfortunatly I am new to the emulation scene. On the plus side, I am good with Linux and programming. Here are the issues/ideas I have:

It looks like all EMU software is DOS based. Is the source availble for any emulator software? Obviously this would need to be ported.

Need 2 serial ports, but TiVo only has one. I was thinking maybe the IR port is a serial port also, but I am not sure. Regardless, I think the TiVoNET Board from 9thtee.com should get us an ISA port to plug a ISA serial controller card into.

There are plenty of places to get juice from on the motherboard, so that should not be an issue.

Any thoughts, ideas, suggestions?

BubbaJ
10-01-2001, 11:28 AM
Pitou is a linux open source emulator. The DTivo has 4 (I think) serial ports, including the smartcard slot .. golly george..

REALLY.. though.. As long as the machine has enough CPU power, it should be rather doable.. :) Configed like this though..

1) remap the device where the smartcard sits to a pipe
2) use that pipe as serial port 1 (emulator) port
3) map the serial port where the smartcard sits somewhere else
4) use that somewhere else as serial port 2 (smartcard)

it's all in linux, all it needs is a recompile of pitou for someone to test it.. it requires no external hardware, no trickyness.. very smooth and straight forward..

monkeyboy
10-02-2001, 12:34 AM
Thanks for the Pitou info Bubba. I grabbed it, and will now get PPP set up so I can compile it. Where did you hear about the smartcard slot being a serial port? That could make this a pure software hack, which is way more than I had hoped for. I just assumed that the DirecTV portion was implemented completly in hardware.