PDA

View Full Version : Why the hush hush?

thundermustard
05-23-2005, 03:54 PM
I am fairly new to TiVO hacking but I have learned a lot in a short time. I got version 4 running on a DTiVO with TivoWebPlus, FTP, etc.
I am trying to get an unhacked version of 6.2 to support HMO.
But what I don't understand is this patchwork of information that is put out about hacks.
Obviously it isn't a "I did all the work, you figure it out" mentality otherwise you wouldn't link to the files. But there is no clearinghouse for everything. You are directed to about 3 threads, each PAGES long (usually the second page has deterioted to guesses at what last night's Lost episode meant).
This stuff changes so fast I think what is happening is people are armed with three different web pages, each refering to something that may or may not be relative.
For some reason this community seems to like it that way, and that is what I don't understand. Granted I have just scratched the surface on this stuff, but following the step by step guide, I have gone from 100% clueless to knowing many linux commands and what they do, but not enough yet.
So maybe someone can explain why the "easter egg" type help you get on this forum.
Now assuming someone is in a helpful mood. I need some guidance.
Since I was successful in getting version 4 running with all the necessary hacks to transfer files, I just assumed I could start at the instructions for installing the image at
http://www.weethet.nl/english/tivo_dtv2_os4hackrid.php
I followed it down to installing in the DTiVO.
I got caught in the Welcome loop.
Is there anywhere that someone can find all the info for getting HMO going under 6.2?
Standing by to be flamed.

JJBliss
05-23-2005, 04:08 PM
Moved to Newbie

05-23-2005, 04:13 PM
You're using 4.0 hacking instructions to try to hack 6.2. Unless you understand what you're doing, and you don't, you should find and use the instructions for exactly what you're trying to do.

Gunnyman
05-23-2005, 04:18 PM