PDA

View Full Version : ZX-81 emulator



John1980
05-30-2005, 08:31 AM
'zx81' is curses-mode Sinclair ZX81 emulator. It supports most programs and games. It saves and loads programs in Xtender's .P format as well as the Atari emulator's .81 format files. It is a curses conversion of Russell Mark's z81txt emulator.

To run this under a terminal session on a TiVo you will probably need an ncurses shared library. Tim has provided a bundle here (http://homepage.ntlworld.com/maxwells.daemon/tivo/compiler.html#lib).

A good site for finding old ZX81 software is here (http://www.zx81.nl/).

John1980
05-30-2005, 09:11 PM
As an added bonus for anyone crazy enough to read this thread, here is a port of Ascii Invaders (by Thomas Munro). Essentially this is a curses clone of the classic Space Invaders video game.

mogulguy
06-29-2005, 04:52 PM
OK, let me get this straight, this works on the terminal right, not on the TV screen?

John1980
06-29-2005, 05:02 PM
OK, let me get this straight, this works on the terminal right, not on the TV screen?

Yes they (ZX81/Invaders) output to the terminal session. They can be made to output to the TV (the osdcons facility - found in the AutoSpace (http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/showthread.php?p=2609651&&#post2609651)package - is very handy for this) but the main issue is that a keyboard is required which implies a terminal session so you may as well output to the terminal. The resolution of a TV screen is not so good and the effort to have it output to the TV seemed to be outweighed by the fact that very few people would find a use for it. They were really written as an exercise for somebody who was bored :)

Invaders could be modified to take it's input from the remote control. The issue was that when I tried it the "lag" in the keypresses on the remote made the game rather frustrating. And then there was the whole issue of how to start/stop the game from the remote - would require something like TCS (http://www.zirakzigil.net/tivo/TCS.html), etc...

cojonesdetoro
06-29-2005, 06:04 PM
I did read your post and was going to post the obvious question "Why?" but , of course, the obvious answer is "because it was there".

It's at least nice to see that someone is still writing stuff for S1.

<soapbox>
Quite frankly, I prefer the S1. There's no messiness with boot tricks for circumvention and that whole upgrade business. I also like the fact that S1's are so cheap and can be used unsubbed. I don't care much about the HMO feaures (besides show swapping which I do on S1 anyway). Tivo2go seems nice but I decided a long time ago that streaming to a PC and authoring is just too tedious. I go analog out to a DVD recorder from a dedicated S1 and say "quality loss be dammed". It looks good enough to me and the extra quality of an all digital copy is not worth the extra time and effort.
</soapbox>

Of course, YMMV....

BTW, nice work on the porting.

John1980
06-29-2005, 06:17 PM
It's at least nice to see that someone is still writing stuff for S1.
Those of us outside of the US do not yet have the option of an S2... so I do not see the S1 stuff drying up in the near future. I live in New Zealand which has yet to be touched by TiVo Inc :(
My TiVo's collect EPG information from various sources, generate a slice and populate the MFS with the information... so they really can be used as a standalone system :)