PDA

View Full Version : Tiger 10.4.x ty2mpg

cognac
07-04-2005, 11:16 AM
Alternate Extract and muxing method for Tiger OS X 10.4.x.

I have tried to get Tyeditor to work since upgrading to Tiger 10.4 with no avail. I did however come up with a new method. This new process works for me since I use FCP to do all my editing. All I needed was a muxed (video &audio) mpg file from Tyeditor.

Programs required:

Quicktime Pro 6 or 7: need to pay the extra $ to Apple to get the mpg plugin so you can play and or convert to DV for inputting into iMovie. FCP accepts the muxed mpg file.

FTP Program: I use Fetch

mac_vsplitmux2c1 : Fast ty2mpg conversion pgm for the mac released in 2003 by jdiner

ty2mpg.sh; simple bash pgm to make it come together.

mfs_ftp: running on your tivo.

FCP or iMovie: For editing your movies

Background:

I only have tested this on a series 1 DSR6000 running ver 2.5 and mfs_ftp. Still haven't found a Mac series 2 pgm. I am not an experienced programer like most of the guys on this forum. No fancy GUI's here just command line in Terminal. I tried to do it with Applescript but couldn't figure out how to pass the variables from applescript to bash.
When I ftp the files over to my mac I get all these unwanted characters and information contained in the files.
"ex. {Lost White Rabbit}{2004-10-20}{White Rabbit}{10.01 PM Wed Jun 29, 2005}{ABCW}.ty"

I got tired of stripping out the "{}", date, and channel info and replacing the spaces with "_" just to get a decent name that mac_vsplitmux would accept. This is where ty2mpg comes in. ty2mpg will strip out all the unwanted characters and give you a file name you can live with like "Lost_White_Rabbit.mpg".
ty2mpg is editable so you can change the muxing options of mac_vsplitmux to whatever suits you.