PDA

View Full Version : Command Line Conversion of .ty files to DivX or XviD...

bluewomble
07-20-2005, 05:41 AM
What's the best way of converting .ty files into compressed DivX or XviD on the command line in windows?

I'm using a Series 1 Tivo and can extract .ty files... I guess the first step is to use vsplit to convert the .ty to an mpeg, but what next?

I'm quite new to this and haven't got much experience with the multitude of video tools out there... Any help, advice or pointers in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Ash.

stealthdave
07-20-2005, 02:49 PM
What's the best way of converting .ty files into compressed DivX or XviD on the command line in windows?

I'm using a Series 1 Tivo and can extract .ty files... I guess the first step is to use vsplit to convert the .ty to an mpeg, but what next?

I'm quite new to this and haven't got much experience with the multitude of video tools out there... Any help, advice or pointers in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Ash.
I would suggest Mencoder, part of the MPlayer (http://mplayerhq.hu) project, as an easy, single line option for transcoding ty files to XviD. MPlayer can read the ty format natively, so you don't need to convert to MPEG first. The MEncoder documentation has detailed instructions on the commandline needed to transcode to XviD. Binaries are available for Windows on the MPlayer web site.

*Note - I've noticed a problem with ty playback on version 1.0pre7, the latest stable release. However, the nightly builds have since fixed this, so you may want to try either 1.0pre6 (the previous stable release) or a nightly build.

bluewomble
07-21-2005, 05:40 AM