PDA

View Full Version : Just want to put one 4kb scrpt file on my TIVO and can't...

cabren
10-16-2005, 08:29 PM
Greetings!

I am very new to hacking my TIVO series 2 (TCD540080) unit and am having 1 issue -- I simply want to place a 4kb script on the tivo and launch it and I won't ever need to hack this box again. I'm great with PC and MAC, but Linux is pretty alien to me. I am seriously cross-eyed from looking all over the net for the right answers to a seemingly simple task. I simply need to get a 4kb script and execute it on my TIVO so that I can get Coolsat 4000 pro FTA receiver recognized by the TIVO. My wife loves TIVO and I can't get the FTA in our family room without keeping her happy. I used the outdated SLEEPER to clone to a 160gb disk and that was successful, but as soon as I apply the hacks, I get a "Welcome, TIVO LOADING..." and then an eternal white screen when I put the disk back in the TIVO. I really don't want any of the hacks, I just want this COOLSAT.TCL script on the TIVO unit and working, and the successfully cloned, unhacked 160gb hard drive is sitting the in PC I am operating on it with -- what is the easiest way to do this? I really don't care to alter anything else in the system. Do I really have to go through the whole FTP and TELNET tampering ordeal? This simple remote control record script is the only thing I want to execute and I am having a heck of a time finding any documentation to clearly walk me through this LINUX "direct copy & execute" procedure. It is also greatly hampering the process that I know very few LINUX commands or I'd be done by now. With the Sleeper boot CD, I thought I successfully created a var/hack directory on hdc9 and tried to do a direct copy after mounting the diskette drive. But I can't seem to mount the TIVO clone drive properly. It wrote something, but the directory can't be opened. The HD is being detected at the proper size and still boots fine to the TIVO. I hate to bother people with this, but could any