PDA

View Full Version : Source for Tivo backup images



captain_video
11-03-2005, 08:24 AM
Check out this (http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=62430&perpage=20&pagenumber=7) link if you're looking for a backup image for your Tivo. Send the guy a PM and he'll give you temporary access to his FTP site so you can download an image. Please don't abuse this as it hurts everyone if you do.

StanSimmons
11-07-2005, 05:00 PM
You would post this the day before I go on a long weekend with no internet access. ;)

StanSimmons
01-30-2009, 05:56 PM
I should have updated this a long time ago...

I haven't had access to that FTP server for a very long time. It is no longer available. I've been pointing people to DVRUpgrade.com and their InstantCake product for recovery images.

ciper
01-30-2009, 06:15 PM
There is an FTP site floating around.
Hang it in #tivo on efnet for a while and I'm sure you will find it.

jwciv
01-31-2009, 12:35 PM
scratch that, did some reading and figured it out

BTW - I bought an instancake from DVRupgrade and extracted the image thinking it would be clean/virgin, restored it, and it was quite modified with all the DVRUpgrade stuff. Was I wrong in thinking I would get a clean image from them or do you think I did something wrong extrating the image from the ISO?

jhatfield
02-23-2009, 11:19 PM
How was it modified?

I bought an instant cake image. I didn't use their installer though. I just extracted the image file from it and restored it to a new drive with with MFSLive's disk. I didn't look through the restored drive though. As far as I know its a stock image, but NOT a current one. It was of 7.2 I believe. Once I had the tivo running, it promptly downloaded the latest OS.

captain_video
02-24-2009, 07:39 AM
The InstantCake images should all be unmodified stock images. Are you sure you weren't looking at a PTVNet installation image?

jwciv
02-25-2009, 08:02 AM
How was it modified?

I bought an instant cake image. I didn't use their installer though. I just extracted the image file from it and restored it to a new drive with with MFSLive's disk. I didn't look through the restored drive though. As far as I know its a stock image, but NOT a current one. It was of 7.2 I believe. Once I had the tivo running, it promptly downloaded the latest OS.


The InstantCake images should all be unmodified stock images. Are you sure you weren't looking at a PTVNet installation image?

I extracted the image (000001.) from an Instantcake download (6.3d) and used mfstools to put it on a blank drive. It has PTVupgrade customized boot screens for starters; in addition, after the first boot it automatically reboots on it's own once. There was an already customized rc.sysinit.author that had calls to non-stock directories and a flag for running certain actions on the 1st boot.

I have since upgraded via slices to 6.4a, not sure if there is a way for me to mount the alternate partitions while it is in the Tivo to give you further information.

I posted a question as to whether or not the embedded image was stock on the DVR upgrade forums a month ago...my question has gone unanswered there.

ciper
02-27-2009, 09:11 PM
I extracted the image (000001.) from an Instantcake download (6.3d) and used mfstools to put it on a blank drive. It has PTVupgrade customized boot screens for starters;
Oh damn. What was the ISO name?

jwciv
02-27-2009, 09:18 PM
Oh damn. What was the ISO name?

instantcake-hr10-250-6.3d.iso

MoSk33t3r
04-21-2009, 12:42 AM
Can someone provie me with a stock HR10-250 6.4a image? Or should I stick with 6.3c or 6.3d?

ciper
04-21-2009, 12:44 AM
instantcake-hr10-250-6.3d.iso

I swore I responded to this thread...
Either way you are right. I had a hell of a farking time reverting an instantcake image back to nearly stock. I would probably rather building my drive from scratch rather than use IC again.

At least units that require a prom mod are guaranteed not to have all this stuff.

jwciv
04-25-2009, 03:38 PM
I swore I responded to this thread...
Either way you are right. I had a hell of a farking time reverting an instantcake image back to nearly stock. I would probably rather building my drive from scratch rather than use IC again.

At least units that require a prom mod are guaranteed not to have all this stuff.

once I did my slice upgrade to 6.4a I was obviously left with a nice and clean install on the alternate partition...then hacked away.

Pontihog
08-04-2009, 12:57 PM
Message deleted by poster

Mfusick
08-25-2011, 07:29 PM
Check out this (http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=62430&perpage=20&pagenumber=7) link if you're looking for a backup image for your Tivo. Send the guy a PM and he'll give you temporary access to his FTP site so you can download an image. Please don't abuse this as it hurts everyone if you do.

A few days ago my tivo started restarting- after the intro video it restarts again.

I believe it is a failed hard drive.

I want to replace the drive. I can buy a 1TB or 2TB from WD or Hitachi cheap ($60)

Does it matter what drive or size I get?

Also, I have torx set- but I lack the image file.

Where can I get a download to install the tivo software onto my new drive before installing it? I want to swap the bad drive with a new larger one.

HELP!

(can I get a program like instantcake free anywhere?)

PlainBill
08-26-2011, 08:57 AM
A few days ago my tivo started restarting- after the intro video it restarts again.

I believe it is a failed hard drive.

I want to replace the drive. I can buy a 1TB or 2TB from WD or Hitachi cheap ($60)

Does it matter what drive or size I get?

Also, I have torx set- but I lack the image file.

Where can I get a download to install the tivo software onto my new drive before installing it? I want to swap the bad drive with a new larger one.

HELP!

(can I get a program like instantcake free anywhere?)

It depends on which TiVo you have. Because of addressing, earlier TiVos require the kernel and root partitions lie in the first 137 Gig of the drive. I seem to recall that TiVos had a 1 Gig limit on drive size, but that can be my faulty memory.

I'd suggest asking in the image begging thread in the newbie subforum, and specify the model you are using.

Instantcake is commercial software, sold by a site sponsor.

PlainBill

Mfusick
08-26-2011, 09:45 AM
It depends on which TiVo you have. Because of addressing, earlier TiVos require the kernel and root partitions lie in the first 137 Gig of the drive. I seem to recall that TiVos had a 1 Gig limit on drive size, but that can be my faulty memory.

I'd suggest asking in the image begging thread in the newbie subforum, and specify the model you are using.

Instantcake is commercial software, sold by a site sponsor.

PlainBill

Thanks!

So to confirm you saying I should purchase a 1TB drive and not larger? (I actually have a spare 750gig WD right now I could use also)
-with either of these options I should be all set as far as the drive is concerned, and both should represent a nice upgrade from what was stock.

The image begging thread- I am not sure exactly what your talking about. I will go look. If someone has a link it might be helpful.

And basically for the software- my options are hope someone has the image file and get it- or purchase instantcake from the sponsor at $40 ??

Am I correct?

stevel
08-26-2011, 09:58 AM
The program (or one that accomplishes the same thing) you can get from mfslive.org The TiVo image you'd have to find somewhere else.

Mfusick
08-26-2011, 09:59 AM
The program (or one that accomplishes the same thing) you can get from mfslive.org The TiVo image you'd have to find somewhere else.

The image is what I really need.

Mfusick
08-26-2011, 10:00 AM
It depends on which TiVo you have.
PlainBill

I have a HD TIVO

2160 HD

PlainBill
08-26-2011, 11:54 AM
I have a HD TIVO

2160 HD

That may mean some of the limitations no longer apply. Also, it means the availability of an image would be better if you used the full model number of the TiVo!!! Using the search function also helps.

The image begging thread is here (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?t=31863). It is the first thread in this subforum.

PlainBill

Mfusick
08-26-2011, 12:35 PM
TCD652160 is the full number.

It is the TIVO HD. (not premiere)

bobehill
08-04-2013, 04:18 AM
TCD652160 is the full number.

It is the TIVO HD. (not premiere)


I also have a tcd652160, and after spending a couple of days running through the kickstart codes (much to the annoyance of my spouse), and cycling through the powering up! and Just a few minutes more! I get only a black screen. Not good.

So if you found the image, or can point me to the venue to search or beg (I'm a little hazy as to how to do this) I would appreicate the information. My Tivo is unmodified except for the addition of the standard 1gb exteral WD drive. One thing I'm about to do is to run the WD diagnostics on the Tivo drive; at this point I have nothing to lose. And it just seems silly to buy software or a harddrive setup when Tivo is begging me to take a Premier with a warranty and support for a little more. On the other hand, if I could just re-image the 160gb drive, or better yet get a new one and re-image that, I would be happy. I've pretty much resigned myself to losing saved data; I usually watch Netflicks, the drive is full of sitcoms downloaded by my teenage daughter. She will be better off to lose them.

Thanks,
Bob Hill

bobehill
08-04-2013, 04:25 AM
For the life of me, and after much googling, I can't get access to mfslive.org. Nor an image file for my 652160, acquired perfectly legally, modified only with the approved 1tb external drive. I guess I'll just have to person-up and face the faceless Tivo phone tree. Where I am sure my call is important! But where they are coping with unexpectedly high call volume. Just guessing. I'd almost rather learn linux and how to unsolder my eprom, but my spouse sees things differently.

ScanMan
08-04-2013, 08:43 AM
Try this: http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?31863-Backup-image-and-slice-begging-thread&p=316614#post316614