PDA

View Full Version : Tserver / tzoffset & Daylight savings.

dribble68
11-03-2005, 05:17 PM
Hi there.

I am sorry if this has been asked before, but I have searched and can't find any direct answer.

I have tserver running on my UK Thompson Tivo, and all was working perfectly until the hour went back last week. Now when I try and refresh the 'Now Showing' list in Tytools, the telnet prompt reports:

syntax error in expression "*60*60"
while executing
"expr $tz*60*60"
(procedure "get_tzoffset" line 31)
invoked from within
"get_tzoffset $setuptz $daylightsavings"
(procedure "init_db" line 54)
invoked from within
"init_db"
(file "/var/hack/TyTool/NowShowing.tcl" line 480)
Waiting for an incoming connection!

Now from searching, I can see that this is due to tzoffset not being able to report the time difference correctly? It has to give a result of '0', or something like that? I understand that the UK Tivos are only effected by this.

Question is, how to I modify this? I am no programmer, so don't know how to manually set the time difference, or how to change nowshowing.tcl, so that it comes up with the correct result ? Any pointers anyone ?

Many thanks

David.

Jamie
11-03-2005, 05:30 PM
I am sorry if this has been asked before, but I have searched and can't find any direct answer.Try using the tserver here (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?t=39487). It doesn't need an exterrnal NowShowing.tcl script. I'm not certain if it does the right thing when the local time zone == UTC, but if it doesn't, I'll fix it.

dribble68
11-04-2005, 08:10 PM
Hi Jamie,

Thanks for the information. I am sorry, but my 'comfort level' with unix/linux is not very good. Can you give me some info on the commands needed to extract these files, and where I should be looking to extract them to ?

Once I have got that 'cracked', I think I'll be able to 'muddle' through with the rest of it.

Cheers

David

mrdizzy
11-05-2005, 06:19 AM