PDA

View Full Version : After superpatch, how does Tivo tell time?



L33Tivo
11-14-2005, 11:16 PM
Sorry for the dumb question but ...

I'm superpatch6/7ed on three SD-DVR40s. It's been two days. One Tivo is about one minute out of sync. Daily calls used to set my clock, but I'm not calling any more. Does the satellite stream send the time? Do I need to be on a specific channel? Any friendly suggestions?

Thanks,
L

PTVNet
Superpatch6/7 (Thanks nutcase)

wierdo
11-15-2005, 02:12 PM
The time seems to be set based on the satellite, but I've seen situations where the time signal being sent on some transponders (but not others) is off, so if your receiver was last tuned to one of the transponders with the incorrect time code the time will be off.

I've seen this happen on several occasions while channel surfing (blasphemy, when you have a TiVo!).

L33Tivo
11-15-2005, 03:44 PM
Thanks. That makes sense.

I just went from stock to three hacked, networked DTivos in one weekend, so I'm really watching for problems.