PDA

View Full Version : Noise, Artifacts in show causes extraction errors

sabotage79
11-22-2005, 12:18 PM
I've been using TivoTool for the Mac for several months, and recently I've been having trouble every now and then with extracting tv shows - it seems totally random, and I think i've narrowed it down to an issue with the singal itself.

Have you ever seen those artifacts occasionally in the picture, where it distorts the picture for just a second or two, then things are back to normal? Well, I think these hickups in the recorded show are causing vsplit to be unable to complete the file - I can use hdemux, but when it gets to that point in the show, the audio is out of sync from that point on.

Anyone have any clues? Is this a hardware issue? I don't have a tv hooked to the unit, but i'm willing to bet that if I played the show on the tivo itself, it would display that exact same issue - and no matter how many times I try to extract the show, its always in the same spot that it goofs up for a second, with the artifacts. So like I said, I think its in the ty file itself.

Could it be the harddrive? when i run smart tests, everything seems normal.
I hope someone has experienced this same thing, or knows what it could be.

Please help.

eastwind
11-22-2005, 02:27 PM
Could be an error in the data stream (if from DTV) or a glitch in the recording (if on a SA). You should be a little more specific to get more specific help. It could still be a HD error--check with the manufacturers utilities non-destructive surface test.

ew

sabotage79
11-23-2005, 02:29 PM
Here is the best way to describe the issue - an actual video example:
Actual Video (http://www.ryanwalker.org/wp-content/sync_example.mpeg) (5MB)

See what you guys think.

Thanks,
Ryan

johnsolo
11-23-2005, 04:09 PM
I get this too. I would love to figure out why it happens. I assumed it was bad memory on my Tivo box.

I am on an S2SA.

sabotage79
11-23-2005, 04:21 PM
John,