PDA

View Full Version : Help from recovering from a botched TyServer install

Seacoug
12-15-2005, 01:19 PM
Like others I have had difficulty getting the PTVupgrade DVRchive up and running. I have seen other posts that have the same problem. There is not a universal set of instructions to get Tyserver running on the Tivo. After many attempts I was finally able to get an execute from this command by telnet only "./server". Does anyone have an idea why this is? Why don't the other commands cited in the forum work? If others have had problems with this ....try this command from telnet then open the client.

Seacoug

tsokj
01-03-2006, 11:17 PM
I have installed TyServer but I do not see it in the HACKMAN menu. Has anyone answer you on the installation of Tyserver?

I am very new to Linux but not to networking and programming.

Thanks

Seacoug
01-04-2006, 01:40 AM
I'm using Tytool as a client so I think our problems are a bit different. Nobody has responded to my post. It seems most of those with experience don't care to respond. I am a novice. I can get tyserver to run by telnet. This is the command I use:

cd /var/hack

./tserver

What kind of error message do you get?

Jamie
01-04-2006, 01:49 AM
It seems most of those with experience don't care to respond. DVRchive is a product from PTVUpgrade. Those with experience here don't use that product. If you want help on a product, it might makes sense to start at the vendors web site. Don't they have a support forum?

Seacoug
01-04-2006, 11:28 AM
DVRchive is simply a compilation of tools most discussed on this site. There are few posts on the PTVUpgrade site about this topic. Most are about their drive expansion kits. This forum has a lot of people who don't get a response on other topics where it does make sense to come here for support.

Jamie
01-04-2006, 12:04 PM