PDA

View Full Version : newbie question regarding tytool/vserver/tserver



cmeisel
01-01-2006, 05:50 PM
I just got my unit (from ptvupgrade) and managed to hook it up to the wireless network (even WPA worked so I am pretty happy so far).
However, when I tried to get the tytool to work (?) to stream content to the PC I started to run into problem. It looks like that there is no vserver or tserver installed on my system. I saw several postings that talk about having to install vserver /var/hack and a posting here from Jamie talking about tserver and providing a whole set of useful looking tools (including a copy of tserver). My problem is, that while telnet works and http, I have no idea how to use ftp with this box and how to get files on it. I can type: ftp://myIP and from the command prompt it connects and then just sits there (hangs actually).

1. How do I get files on the box
2. If I have to usr ftp for it, how ?
3. what should I use for streaming the vserver or tserver (Jamie's posting) ?

thanks

claus

Narf54321
01-01-2006, 06:01 PM
I have no idea what machine you've got. I'll assume its a series-2 for the time being.

1. FTP files over the network
2. Load alphawolf's tivoftpd (part of the all in one utilities (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?t=37602) )
3. You can put both, because different software utilize either one or the other.

cmeisel
01-01-2006, 06:15 PM
I have a Philips DVR704 with a modified drive from ptvupgrade.
The main problem is that I can't figure out how FTP works.
I can telnet and I can browse to the box but when I try to connect via ftp it hangs. I used an ftp client...connects and hangs and also tried via command line (winxp). open ftp I get a connected to tivo but then no more command prompts. It seems to all hang.

claus

Narf54321
01-01-2006, 06:22 PM
you need to run an FTP service on the tivo, first. In other words, tivoftpd (on the tivo) before you can connect.

Trying to FTP to an empty port on your tivo will likely result in long hangs as you describe.

cmeisel
01-01-2006, 06:29 PM
I am running the service, I restarted it, rebooted the unit and so on.
here is what I get when I use filezilla:

Status: Connecting to 192.168.250.107 ...
Status: Connected with 192.168.250.107. Waiting for welcome message...
Error: Timeout detected!
Error: Unable to connect!
Status: Waiting to retry... (5 retries left)
Status: Connecting to 192.168.250.107 ...
Status: Connected with 192.168.250.107. Waiting for welcome message...

So it seems to connect fine to the unit via ftp but then timeout...

Narf54321
01-01-2006, 09:05 PM
That's awfully strange. I suppose the next question is what version of tivoftpd are you using?

Also, are you using a proxy setup or local firewall which would possibly conflict with non-http traffic?

cmeisel
01-02-2006, 01:23 AM
How can I find out the version ? I have no local firewall. No problem to telnet in, http and even ping the unit.

claus

dongrocker
01-02-2006, 01:22 PM
it sounds like you are not running ftpd?

(i.e. an ftp *server* on your tivo.)

does ptv automatically install this?
or do they assume you're fine with just telnet and http?? I wonder.

cmeisel
01-02-2006, 01:33 PM
tivoftpd is installed and running. When I shut it down I can't connect (of course). when I start it I can connect but time out.
Status: Connecting to 192.168.250.107 ...
Status: Connected with 192.168.250.107. Waiting for welcome message...
Error: Timeout detected!
Error: Unable to connect!
Status: Waiting to retry... (5 retries left)

Narf54321
01-02-2006, 02:21 PM
Try using the tivoftpd located from the files section (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?t=39184).

cmeisel
01-02-2006, 03:08 PM
i was thinking about this too but the problem is that I have no idea how to get new files on the tivo. I can telnet and http. I messed with http_get but it always seems to time out (no idea why).

cheer
01-02-2006, 09:55 PM
This may be dumb/obvious, but have you tried switching to PASV mode on your ftp client? Perhaps you have the Windows Firewall (or something else) killing the active return connection.

cmeisel
01-02-2006, 10:00 PM
It's not a dump question. But I have tried it all. I always have the windows firewall off (service disabled) and I tried active and passive ftp mode. I can ftp to anywhere else (including my own ftp server in the office here in the same house (same network as the tivo) or the outside.

Narf54321
01-02-2006, 10:04 PM
i was thinking about this too but the problem is that I have no idea how to get new files on the tivo. I can telnet and http. I messed with http_get but it always seems to time out (no idea why).

You're going to hate the answer, but you'd need to pull the drive and put it in a computer (and use a linux boot disk) to add any extra files. This would be known as the hard way.

You could also try a terminal prrogram with file transfer, TeraTerm comes to mind, and try to sz your files over telnet.