PDA

View Full Version : Disabling TyStream Encryption - Having Trouble Executing Commands

robinmichael
03-25-2006, 03:05 PM
I have an S2 unit with 6.2, on a PTVUpgrade disk that otherwise has been working well. I am trying to run through the commands that AlphaWolf posted - http://dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?t=31213
I am using TivoWebPlus to execute the recommended commands.
I first executed the following commands:
mount -o remount,rw /
cp /tvbin/tivoapp /tvbin/tivoapp.orig
cd /tvbin
mv tivoapp tivoapp.tmp
When I execute the command mv tivoapp tivoapp.tmp I get a message "mv: tivoapp: No such file or directory" and yet SmartFTP clearly shows that this file, tivoapp, exists.

I am not a Linux expert, barely a novice, but this seems like a no brainer. Does anyone have a clue as to why this is happening? Thanks for your help in advance.

robinmichael
03-25-2006, 07:24 PM
I managed to get through the command sequence by doing it through Telnet. I even found what I though was the missing file. When I went to a reboot, it stayed on the DirecTV screen the indicates it will be completed soon. It never did. I let it go for 10 minutes, then unplugged it and tried it again for 20. I called DTV support and they said the entire iniitial boot process should take no more than 5 or 6 minutes, not including satellite data acquisition. I put my original disk in so I could catch the UCLA-Memphis game. DTV said they would send a refurbished Tivo unit with 80GB disk instead of the 40GB that I had.

I was very careful typing and rechecking the commands several times before executing. What could I have done wrong? Or is it possible that it might just take longer to reboot?

Narf54321
03-26-2006, 04:16 PM
Don't get the refurb unit, as it might end up being an R10 (unhackable).

Sounds like you borked the tivoapp file (which is the main and quite necessary program for a tivo). Put a copy of the original tivoapp file back in /tvbin named simply tivoapp and see if it'll boot up.