PDA

View Full Version : Cloning a stock TiVO HDD then extracting from cloned drive???

Subaru4WD
06-16-2006, 10:40 PM
Ive read most the threads here, and almost every guide ive come across. Pretty much, the point being made is hacking a TiVO is a pain in the ass.

I cant risk damaging my TiVO or rendering the TiVO useless. My roomate wont have it. But I need to find a way to extract the shows to backup on DVD. Instead of hacking my TiVO, im sure i can just stick the HDD in my PC and extract shows that way. But im wondering if I can clone the stock HDD and then extract the shows? That way i can put the originall HDD back into the TiVO and have zero risk of damaging my unit?

I know i'll need Linux for this, im setting up a 2nd PC as I type. But I need to know what software i'd need to clone the Original Hard Drive?

Flame away, im a newb... but im sick of reading threads... expecially when one thread sais one thing... and another sais something completely different.

Thanks for any help guys,
-Brian

Jamie
06-16-2006, 10:44 PM
Cloning a drive is easy. Google mfstools. I'm curious how you intend to decrypt the video streams when you put the cloned drive in your PC. As far as I know, that's an unsolved problem.

Wouldn't the newbie forum be a better place to post questions such as this?

Subaru4WD
06-16-2006, 10:55 PM
Maybe it would be, but this is the extraction forum... and i intend to extract the video. I will use Linux for that, is that still not an option??? Do i NEED to ahve the HDD in the TiVO and transfer streams via FTP? There's no way to mount the tivo drive and just transfer the streams that way?

Subaru4WD
06-16-2006, 10:59 PM
Isnt the info i need in this thread: http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?t=23192

In order to extract video to my PC, not over a network??? And wouldnt doing this avoid needing to hack my TiVO???

I just need these videos, i dont need networking or anything fancy.

-Brian

eastwind
06-16-2006, 11:10 PM