PDA

View Full Version : Tivo HardDrive in a USB Enclosure!!!

Billmaster
08-07-2006, 04:26 PM
Hi I have a DirecTivo Hughes SDDVR80 Series2.
The other day I put it in my USB enclosure. I have tri-booting laptop WindowsXP, Kubuntu 6.06 and OSX86.
I could see the harddrive but could not mount it. Now that I read a lot more I think if someone helps me patch my Kubuntu, to support Tivo Partions. I can mount the drive that way. I want to copy a few of my programs to my laptop harddrive.

So I'm still a linux noob. Someone please help me out and we can all just throw our Tivo harddrives in a USB enclosure!

Jamie
08-07-2006, 04:29 PM
Hi I have a DirecTivo Hughes SDDVR80 Series2.
The other day I put it in my USB enclosure. I have tri-booting laptop WindowsXP, Kubuntu 6.06 and OSX86.
I could see the harddrive but could not mount it. Now that I read a lot more I think if someone helps me patch my Kubuntu, to support Tivo Partions. I can mount the drive that way. I want to copy a few of my programs to my laptop harddrive.

So I'm still a linux noob. Someone please help me out and we can all just throw our Tivo harddrives in a USB enclosure!You can use tivopart to inform the linux kernel of the tivo partition table. Or just let mfs-utils parse it internally. In that mode, it should even work from windows with cygwin, although there is still a question about whether win NT/2K/XP will clobber the bootpage on a usb drive.

Billmaster
08-07-2006, 04:57 PM
You can use tivopart to inform the linux kernel of the tivo partition table. Or just let mfs-utils parse it internally. In that mode, it should even work from windows with cygwin, although there is still a question about whether win NT/2K/XP will clobber the bootpage on a usb drive.

Thanks for getting this started! This is a non-hacked DirecTivo. Could you explain how to use tivopart to mount the partions? I don't wanna screw up the drive as I have no way to fix it now.

Jamie
08-07-2006, 05:10 PM