PDA

View Full Version : Writing first program

BrianS
09-09-2006, 11:39 AM
I am a C/C++ developer whose going to write his first Tcl script today.

All I want to do is iterate the 'Now Showing' and with each show create a .asx file and put it in a network shared folder.

I've been looking at TivoWebPlus and know from the nowshowing page this is done cause I can save the .asx from the View link. In the code I've come across use of sub ForeachMfsFile and will see if this is the route to go.

Can anyone point me to a basic sample starting with just lising 'Now Showing' via a telnet session?

Thanx,

Jamie
09-09-2006, 11:46 AM
Can anyone point me to a basic sample starting with just lising 'Now Showing' via a telnet session?There's a NowShowing.tcl script floating around that used to be used by tserver. Look in the src package here (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?t=39487). There's a C version too. Faster, but it is kind of ugly. See also mfs_streams from the same package.

BrianS
09-09-2006, 01:16 PM
There's a NowShowing.tcl script floating around that used to be used by tserver. Look in the src package here (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?t=39487). There's a C version too. Faster, but it is kind of ugly. See also mfs_streams from the same package.

Thanx ... looks to be a good place to start.
Headed over to Borders to pick up a Tcl book; the O'Reilly one looks well worth the 40 bucks.

I must be missing something, just tried my first Hello World, created the .tcl file, did the chmod 755 and got an error when running it

The MyFirst.tcl is

###############################################################################
# my first tivo app

puts stdout "Hello World"

# Done.

And the error I get when running it is:
: command not found
.//MyFirst.tcl: puts: command not found
: command not found

Any ideas?

ScanMan
09-09-2006, 02:55 PM
I think you have to add:
#!/tvbin/tivoshas the 1st line...

BrianS
09-09-2006, 05:07 PM