PDA

View Full Version : Directv's mistake



indymcadoo
11-20-2006, 02:49 PM
My series2 directv had a bad power supply so it has been replaced by a R15 that is nothing like the series2 that I had. It isn't very nice and it seems to be extremely limited compared to the dtivo series2. I think it is a perfect example of greed run wild. I just wanted to let people know who might be thinking about going with directv.

Bob

jerryray
01-14-2007, 07:03 PM
Yes, r15 sucks. I hate this thing...

Only has a couple of good features.

but drives me crazy when FF and have to go backwards to find the spot after the commercial.

shawn
01-18-2007, 01:00 PM
In Canada they call D*V DaveTV. So should the DirectDVR be renamed the DaVo.
Patent pending on the name.

jerryray
04-24-2007, 08:54 PM
Well this R15 died today. When I called they agreed to send a TIVO.

This is a different story than last time when they said they had no more.

jerryray
04-26-2007, 08:33 PM
So they said I was getting a TIVO replacement.

Today I received another R15 crap box.

After an hour on the phone, they claimed they really did not have any TIVO units, they would creidt me $120, $10 a month for a year. Sucks...

This is the second failure and lost programs.

Guess they really want to lose their "A" list customers.

I'll need to find my own TIVO

Any suggestions?

EBAY?

captain_video
04-26-2007, 09:35 PM
Definitely ebay. It's about the only place you'll consistently find DTivos anymore. You could also try Craigslist. I see lots of used Tivos show up there from time to time, depending on where you're located.

crashHD
04-27-2007, 10:46 PM
ebay.

if you don't need a remote or cables, you can probably get one for under $30 shipped, if you're patient.

If you get a non-RID unit, you should be able to replace your R15 with it, without having to deal with a DTV csr.

Do the 722 trick (Swap the card into the non-RID Tivo, call DTV (from the phone your account is registered to), enter 722). That should send down a reauthorization, which should be sufficient to marry the card to a non-RID receiver.

jerryray
04-30-2007, 12:09 AM
Since I have 4 receivers, 722 may not address the correct one.

I purchased a HR10-250 on ebay, called DTV and they will send a new card.
Btw card is only good for 9 days. They say if it's not used by then it's toast.

Any simple mods to the HR10-250?
Added features and things like 30 second skip.

brubear
05-10-2007, 08:31 PM
Weakknees*(or something like that) sells Tivo platform DirecTV DVRs

jt1134
05-12-2007, 11:50 AM
Weakknees*(or something like that) sells Tivo platform DirecTV DVRs

They sure do. But, I think I'd rather trade in my immortal soul than pay $1200 for a REFURBISHED HR10-250. Christ, those things were only a $1000 2 1/2 years ago when they were introduced. F*** weaknees.

crashHD
05-13-2007, 02:03 PM
They sure do. But, I think I'd rather trade in my immortal soul than pay $1200 for a REFURBISHED HR10-250. Christ, those things were only a $1000 2 1/2 years ago when they were introduced. F*** weaknees.

It's an out of production model. They can charge that, because unless you want a second-hand unit, they're the only game in town.

I agree that it's high, but so is the $1000 for a new one. I don't think I'd ever consider giving more than $300 for a tivo, so if I ever get an HD unit, it will have to be ebay for me.


Seems the price of souls has definitely gone down, if they're going for < $1200 now:eek:

PlainBill
05-13-2007, 02:49 PM
Seems the price of souls has definitely gone down, if they're going for < $1200 now:eek:

It's a supply vrs demand issue. :D The devil is overstocked with present and former members of the current administration and doesn't have a need for the souls of normal people.

PlainBill

patriot
06-14-2007, 09:09 AM
Since the newer Directv DVRs are mpeg4, wont the HR10-250 become obsolete
when they finally get all the HD channels up and going? I believe the mpeg2 HD channels are leased from the dish network satellite 119 and why have that extra cost if they have their own satellite doing the same thing and more. So buying a
older HR10-250 would be dumb.

Just my thoughts on this.

jwciv
06-14-2007, 09:15 AM
Since the newer Directv DVRs are mpeg4, wont the HR10-250 become obsolete
when they finally get all the HD channels up and going? I believe the mpeg2 HD channels are leased from the dish network satellite 119 and why have that extra cost if they have their own satellite doing the same thing and more. So buying a
older HR10-250 would be dumb.

Just my thoughts on this.

I bought an hr10-250 a couple months ago purely for the ability to load shows/movies (movieloader) and for extraction. If it goes away, then so be it, but I'm going to have a hacked HD unit as long as I can.
You can pick one up on ebay for <$200 if you are patient

slideaway
06-14-2007, 05:47 PM
Real dumb question/ Wrong forum (I know)/ and may not be answerable...

but...

Will Direct "make" you get HD service if you call up to add a HR10-250 (purchased from somewhere ie ebay) to your account or allow you just to add it with your existing service?

2nd dumb ?
Does the HR10-250 record from the ANT and/or SAT or just the SAT only?

Thanks for whoever answers.

stevel
06-15-2007, 02:35 PM
What I have read is that if you activate any HD-capable box, you will be required to get HD service.

The HR10 can record ATSC (digital broadcast) from the antenna input. Guide data is provided by DirecTV. You can use the HR10 as an HD tuner without a satellite connection but cannot record without active service (and DVR service.)