PDA

View Full Version : Serial Console on THD.



WTFover
07-29-2007, 12:39 AM
Okay Gents,
I have been screwing with trying to get serial console output.

The good news: Although Tivo decided to use a 4 pin connector for the serial connector, you will more than likely have what you need laying around. A floppy drive power connector (i clipped mine off an old power supply) is just the ticket. The Mobo, is labeled RX, Ground, and TX next to the pins. The 4th pin has a transistor butted right up against the plastic so no silkscreen on it with a tag for what it was used for (if anything). If you have the time you can take a file or dremel and take off the little plastic alignment ridge on the connector.


The bad news: I am having a tough time getting any usable output. I set the bootpage parameters S3 parameters from this thread: http://dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?t=53169
using command bootpage -P "root=/dev/hda7 dsscon=true console=1,115200" -C /dev/sda

I have also (out of desperation and frustration) tried several other console device values (0,2,3) to no avail, as well as setting the connection speed in the bootpage and hyperterm down to 9600. I do get ASCII character gibberish upon initial boot, and then quite a few lines later a couple of minutes later, so I feel I am pretty close. I can loop back the TX and RX lines of my cable and I get the character echo in hyperterm. Also, because the pins are equidistant, you can very easily reverse the plastic connector 180 degrees and offset the plug installation by 1 pin and the TX and RX pins get reversed (ground is the center pin). I get nothing when that is done.
I will doublecheck my cable tomorrow AMwhen I pick up my multimeter.

I mounted up my current root (hda7) and looked around in dev and ttyDSS is a symlink to ttyS1 so I am pretty sure the bootparms I used were orrect anyway. Does anyone have any ideas?

WTFover
07-29-2007, 01:20 AM
Here is the boot output, that i pulled out of the messages log. Notice the platform name "fusion", which would lend credence to the converged platform theories floating around and supported by all the unpopulated areas on the board as well as the corresponding rear panel cutouts.


Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: == System startup resource statistics ==
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: ++ System build version numbers ++
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: b-8-1-7a-mr @271126 2007.06.22-1519 release-mips [] ARM_IDL_FREEZE CDDB_QUERY DCT_SERIAL DSS_SERIAL HPK IDL_FREEZE IRBLAST LOCAL_CALYPSO_SERVER LOCAL_MP3_PLAYER LOCAL_MUSIC_PLAYER LOCAL_PHOTO_VIEWER LOCAL_WMA_PLAYER MACROVISION MULTI_ROOM_VIEWING PERF_LOGGER PERF_LOGGER_USER_STATS PTHREADS_TMK REQUIRE_PRODUCTION_SPIGOT_LINEAGE SANITIZE_LOGS STRONG_CRYPTO T2KSOURCE US_CABLE_AUTO_DETECT
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: 2007.06.22-1519 8.1.7a1-01-2
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: PROM version: TiVo/mips/Gen06/rel version v1.04-rel_C1
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: Image is perfectly intact. SHA1: 0x2140D088CEF80DAE5B3B52ECD669A446BD65C5D0 Length: 74438 Build type: TiVo/mips/Gen06/rel Version: v1.04-rel_C1
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: System Serial Number: (Changed to protect the innocent)
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: Linux version 2.4.20 (build@buildmaster73) (gcc version 3.3.4) #1 Thu Jun 21 20:53:52 PDT 2007
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: ++ Memory usage ++
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: total: used: free: shared: buffers: cached:
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: Mem: 131710976 62984192 68726784 0 1982464 35024896
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: Swap: 134209536 0 134209536
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: MemTotal: 128624 kB
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: MemFree: 67116 kB
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: MemShared: 0 kB
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: Buffers: 1936 kB
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: Cached: 34204 kB
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: SwapCached: 0 kB
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: PriActive 0 kB
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: Active: 9144 kB
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: Inactive: 30468 kB
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: HighTotal: 0 kB
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: HighFree: 0 kB
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: LowTotal: 128624 kB
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: LowFree: 67116 kB
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: SwapTotal: 131064 kB
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: SwapFree: 131064 kB
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: ++ CPU info ++
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: system type^I^I: TiVo Fusion board
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: processor^I^I: 0
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: cpu model^I^I: BMIPS3300 V0.0
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: BogoMIPS^I^I: 296.55
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: wait instruction^I: yes
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: microsecond timers^I: yes
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: tlb_entries^I^I: 32
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: extra interrupt vector^I: yes
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: hardware watchpoint^I: no
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: spurious interrupts^I: 0
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: unaligned access^I: 110
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: cycle counter frequency^I: 148683593
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: ++ Module info ++
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: bcmenet 16240 0 (unused)
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: router 67984 2
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: ubuddy 5728 0
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: mpod 21984 4
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: bcm7401_C1 2228784 6
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: xcode2drv 3514176 8
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: ati314_Gen06 122268 16
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: ircatch_Gen06 17824 0
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: frontpanel 2864 0 [ircatch_Gen06]
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: i2cflash 2624 2
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: i2c_Gen06 17664 2 [ubuddy ati314_Gen06 i2cflash]
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: modemtty_Gen06 5664 0
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: bcmtty_Gen06 4496 0
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: gpio 5040 0 [mpod bcm7401_C1 ati314_Gen06 modemtty_Gen06]
Jul 29 01:23:19 (none) Stats: tivoconfig 944 0 (unused)
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: ++ Device info ++
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: Character devices:
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: 1 mem
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: 2 pty
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: 3 ttyp
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: 4 ttyS
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: 5 cua
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: 10 misc
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: 30 tvbcmdriver
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: 91 tivoconfig
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: 97 ubuddy
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: 99 i2c
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: 104 router
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: 108 ppp
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: 111 pod
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: 112 ati
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: 120 boxster
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: 127 ircatch
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: 162 raw
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: 204 bcmsettopapi
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: 242 fbuf
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: 243 gioctl
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: 246 gpio
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: 247 frontpanel
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats:
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: Block devices:
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: 1 ramdisk
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: 3 ide0
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: 244 i2cflash
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: ++ Network device info ++
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: Inter-| Receive | Transmit
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: face |bytes packets errs drop fifo frame compressed multicast|bytes packets errs drop fifo colls carrier compressed
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: lo: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Jul 29 01:23:20 (none) Stats: eth0: 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

WTFover
07-29-2007, 01:35 AM
Here are the kernel logs. Interesting for sure. This is only a snippet of the log, it exhibits the same behaviour throughout. It boots up and thinks it's JAN 2, until it does an NTP check and sets the clock. I would have thought the sysclock would have been persistant across reboots.

It's too big to post with code brackets so I put it in a txt file.

alldeadhomiez
07-29-2007, 04:45 PM
Does anyone have any ideas?

Are they using RS232 or TTL voltage levels?

Many devices omit the level converter chip (e.g. max232) because it is not used once the unit is deployed to the customer. The first generation device was probably rushed to market so optimizations were not made, but it would not be surprising if they made this change in the cost-reduced version.

If you are blasting +/- 12V directly into the CPU there's a fairly good chance of damaging something. Hope you bought the extended warranty...

The fourth pin might be power for the converter. That is not always needed; take a look at the 232LPTTL33 or 232LPTTL here (http://www.bb-elec.com/product_family.asp?familyid=19).

WTFover
07-30-2007, 10:40 AM
I am not sure to be quite honest. I am going to do some hunting with a magnifying glass tonight when I get home and see if I can identify anything. FWIW, the 4th pin is not supplying any power (checked on the THD I have been messing with as well as my second virgin Tivo HD. Also, the one I have been working with has not exhibited any odd behaviour, but I have discontinued further serial efforts until we get it sorted out.

Also mfslive backup does not appear to work either (on both virgin and the one currently running with Cable cards installed). It throws a partition error, although pdisk is able to pull the partition information just fine. I am going to concentrate on getting some backups, but I will make a dd copy as soon as my new drive shows up.

Narf54321
07-30-2007, 11:45 AM
That's odd that neither of the TivoHD units works with (assuming) MFSbackup. I wonder if that's deliberate on Tivo's part.

Can you try a bzip just to archive the whole drive, as in Peter Seebach's article (http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/linux/library/l-lobtivo/)?

create archive of hard drive (change hde as appropriate):


bzip2 -1c < /dev/hde > tivo.img.bz2


uncompress image to (new) hard drive (again change hde as needed):


bzip2 -dc < tivo.img.bz2 > /dev/hde

ScanMan
07-30-2007, 12:23 PM
There's a post over at TCF from spike2k5 that indicates mfstools doesn't work on the HD. He has successfully upgraded it with WinMFS and promises a release of that s/w to beta testers in a "few days."

WTFover
07-31-2007, 08:11 PM
That's odd that neither of the TivoHD units works with (assuming) MFSbackup. I wonder if that's deliberate on Tivo's part.

Can you try a bzip just to archive the whole drive, as in Peter Seebach's article (http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/linux/library/l-lobtivo/)?

create archive of hard drive (change hde as appropriate):


bzip2 -1c < /dev/hde > tivo.img.bz2


uncompress image to (new) hard drive (again change hde as needed):


bzip2 -dc < tivo.img.bz2 > /dev/hde


Bzip doesn't appear to be on the MFSLive CD. I also attempted it from my Ubuntu workstation and received a device not ready error, although I was able to view the device moments ago when booted with MFSlive.

bkdtv
08-03-2007, 09:53 PM
Could someone post or link to a recent Series3 log for comparison purposes?

WTFover
08-04-2007, 12:03 AM
http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?p=263808#post263808
This is the only thing I have seen so far. It's the serial output which is what you basically get out of the messages log. I don't have an S3 :( Omikron has my THD and will be socketing the prom. Once I get it back I will enable bash and telnet. I am still looking in to getting the serial console working as well. I ordered one of the RS232 to TTL converters suggested a couple of posts prior. I will let everyone know how it turns out.

WTFover
08-16-2007, 03:10 PM
ADH was right, an RS232 to TTL coverter is required. I bought a cheap one off of Ebay for $16 shipped. Plugged it in and it worked immediately. It did not require external power from the 4th pin on the tivo, although I rechecked that pin on the tivo and it reads a constant 4.95 volts. If you had to you could power a converter of if it. Below is the output, it wouldn't fit in the code tags of this site.
Here is the link in case anyone wants one. I have no affiliation with these guys, just passing it along.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=ADME:B:EOIBSAA:US:11&Item=110155521584

bkdtv
10-09-2007, 02:24 PM
Splash the screen
Unaligned Access to 0x89c9b99e in kernel mode at 0xc06bef18
Creating framebuffer of size 1280,1080 with 0 back_buffers PixFmt:5
Created HD framebuffer 0x8b90a4a0
Creating framebuffer of size 720,480 with 0 back_buffers PixFmt:5
Created SD framebuffer 0x8b90a2a0
[TV_BCMDISPLAY_SET_VIDEO_OUTPUT_MODE] mode=1
Running boot Stage D_PreMfs scripts
Remote control is TIVO
MFS partition on /de
***** HDCP Authentication Initialized
Look for debug board
Starting podapp...
Configuring uBuddy for P0
Loading ubuddy.o
Loading router.o
7138: 0x31 0x11 0x38 0x71 0x81 0x24
7138: 0x31 0x11 0x38 0x71 0x81 0x24
Loading bcmenet.o
Ethernet bridge revision 7401 C0 or later
MAC initialized OK 00:11:D9:0A:00:A5
enet : link down
Updating system clock
Time set to: Thu Aug 16 18:55:34 2007
gen_ioctl: LOCKMEM command STUBBED
/tvbin/podapp: ATSC/CATV PSIP/POD Manager Version 0.34, compiled on Jul 26 2007
Can someone clarify what that means?

Does that mean the TivoHD is only doing its video processing with a 1280x1080 framebuffer?

Jamie
10-09-2007, 02:50 PM
Can someone clarify what that means?

Does that mean the TivoHD is only doing its video processing with a 1280x1080 framebuffer?I would guess that the framebuffer is for the 2D graphics engine: OSD, menus, etc, not for video processing. Aren't the menus all in 720p?

pantsface
04-10-2008, 11:19 AM
ADH was right, an RS232 to TTL coverter is required. I bought a cheap one off of Ebay for $16 shipped. Plugged it in and it worked immediately. It did not require external power from the 4th pin on the tivo, although I rechecked that pin on the tivo and it reads a constant 4.95 volts. If you had to you could power a converter of if it. Below is the output, it wouldn't fit in the code tags of this site.
Here is the link in case anyone wants one. I have no affiliation with these guys, just passing it along.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=ADME:B:EOIBSAA:US:11&Item=110155521584

Great forum. Been reading and learning much.

Will normal serial commands, specifically to replace IR to FWD, pause, play, etc. work through the TTL converted RS232 interface? I would assume the S1 and S2 commands would work, but wanted to see if anyone had tried.

ciper
01-30-2009, 07:23 PM
If I have no modifications to the file system will I see any output from the serial port of a THD?

jt1134
01-30-2009, 08:00 PM
If I have no modifications to the file system will I see any output from the serial port of a THD?

you'll have to at least edit your bootpage.

ciper
01-30-2009, 09:09 PM
Allright. I had hoped it would at least output the boot process without modification.

Is there any way to modify the boot page without modifying the kernel? I know it sounds odd but I have an active prom mod but I need to leave the drive untouched.

jt1134
01-30-2009, 09:26 PM
you don't need to hack the kernel to add dsscon and console to your bootpage.

tivo4mevo
01-30-2009, 09:26 PM
You can pull the drive and modify the bootpage without tinkering with the kernel. I believe that a stock kernel will still honor that bootpage setting (dsscon).

T_RJ
02-08-2009, 10:29 AM
Here is an inexpensive ($4.00 deleivered) usb serial cable that works, just need to cut the "nokia" end off and replace with mini molex.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=330301125585

ciper
02-08-2009, 08:39 PM
That is EXACTLY what I am already using. Stop stealing my ideas ;)

If anyone needs the latest XP driver for this cable I have it. 2.0.0.26

edit: Rather than trying to send the file to everyone please see this link instead http://support.gateway.com/support/drivers/search.asp?param=PL-2303.exe&st=fn
Download the file "PL-2303.exe - Gateway Dock Driver Version: 4.0.100.1190" and ignore the name because it's the most stripped down version of the driver you can get.

T_RJ
02-21-2009, 05:55 PM
I had trouble with the driver ciper suggested with Vista.
I found this one works.
Here is the link for an "all in one" driver.

PL-2303 USB to Serial Bridge (H, HX, X) Installshield Driver Setup Program
v3.3.3.114 for Windows Vista and Server 2008 (32-bit and 64-bit)
v2.0.5.111 for Windows 2K/XP/2003 (32-bit)

Info
http://www.prolific.com.tw/eng/downloads.asp?ID=31
Driver PL2303_Prolific_DriverInstaller_1025.zip.
http://www.prolific.com.tw/support/files//IO%20Cable/PL-2303/Drivers%20-%20Generic/Windows/allinone/PL2303_Prolific_DriverInstaller_1025.zip

ciper
02-22-2009, 05:25 AM
Mine was for XP
Post edited :)

T_RJ
02-22-2009, 12:53 PM
Edited my post above for clarification.

mrpenguin
05-26-2009, 08:18 AM
Seems the ebay links in this thread are dead. Can anyone clarify what they pointed to?

Also, could an mc1488/mc1489 chip work in place of the max232 in this situation?

T_RJ
05-26-2009, 09:03 AM
search on ebay for "USB DATA CABLE CA-42"
There are many for under $4.00 delivered.
Here is a link to an example.
CA-42 (http://cgi.ebay.com/CA-42-FOR-NOKIA-3120-3200-3220-6020-USB-DATA-CABLE-CD_W0QQitemZ260413827823QQ)

mrpenguin
05-26-2009, 04:22 PM
Thanks! actually a friend had one he was not using. if you don't mind, what is the pinout for it? thanks.

T_RJ
05-26-2009, 06:10 PM
pinouts Nokia CA-42 (http://pinouts.ru/CellularPhones-Nokia/nokia_pop_pinout.shtml)

TiVo HD pinouts labeled on the MB.

mrpenguin
06-24-2009, 11:55 AM
Well, the nokia thing never wanted to work for me. The drivers would never recognize the device or whatever, it just didn't work. So, I just made the MAX232 com board and made the jack myself. Looks better this way anyway I think.

Attached are pics of the completed project and the schematic I used to create the com board. I used 1uF instead of .1uF caps.

If anyone is wondering for early bash, you need to insmod /platform/lib/modules/bcmtty_Gen06.o on TivoHD instead of bcm7315tty.o as in the 540's, and it uses ttyS1 not ttyS2.

AlphaWolf
07-27-2009, 03:37 AM
I am not well versed when it comes to different chip nomenclatures. What kind of max232 chip should I look for? There are literally hundreds of variations. Trying to find this and the caps on digikey.

Right now I am guessing this one should be voltage compatible:

http://search.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch/dksus.dll?Detail&name=MAX232CPE-ND

And I am guessing it should be sufficient for 115200 baud? Or do you need the max232a for that? Also what kind of caps should I get? (thermal tolerance, form factor, voltage, etc as I am not sure what limits I would be dealing with here.)

EDIT: Then again, I am guessing one of these would be cheaper and easier, not to mention neater.

http://cgi.ebay.com/MAX232-RS232-to-TTL-module-converter-AVR-PIC-ARM_W0QQitemZ130320130890QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item1e57af634a&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

mrpenguin
07-28-2009, 08:54 AM
for 10$, and if you are not going to need more than one, it may be worth it. I bought bunch of Electrolytic capacitors, 1uf 50v polarized for cheap, a few max232 (not 'a' ver), and a bunch of 3.5mm jacks. I had the blank circuit board, wires, solder, etc. and a 4pin floppy power cable. Total spent was around 17$, but had the fun & satisfaction of creating it myself, and have enough parts for a few more if I find any other super deals on boxes.

My max232 have written on them:
Maxim
MAX232CPE
+0716

In my reading/research, if you use the max232a version, you may be able to use smaller or skip the capacitors, because they have within, but I really am not sure, it was a bit confusing, as you well know.

AlphaWolf
07-28-2009, 10:07 PM
for 10$, and if you are not going to need more than one, it may be worth it.

Yeah I am only going to be using one, as I'll probably never have a second tivo hd (don't plan on it anyways.) I am thinking of removing that DB-9 port and soldering a 3.5mm port in its place, and see if I can mount this whole thing to the empty footprint below the holes in the back of the case. Assuming of course that what I linked is compatible with what I am trying to do here (again, not an electronics guru.)

Speak of those footprints, does anybody have any ideas on what they are the remnants of? I am wondering if one of those might have actually been where the 3.5mm port would have been mounted, but don't want to lift the motherboard out of the case just to find out as it wouldn't be helpful anyways.

AlphaWolf
07-30-2009, 01:41 PM
If anyone is wondering for early bash, you need to insmod /platform/lib/modules/bcmtty_Gen06.o on TivoHD instead of bcm7315tty.o as in the 540's, and it uses ttyS1 not ttyS2.

Since you have to load a module for this to work, does that mean you can't enter the prom menu via this method? Otherwise I don't really understand why a module is needed if we already have tty communication before the kernel has even started to load (unless its just needed for bash to be able to accept incoming text from ttyS1?)

Jamie
07-30-2009, 03:28 PM
Since you have to load a module for this to work, does that mean you can't enter the prom menu via this method? Otherwise I don't really understand why a module is needed if we already have tty communication before the kernel has even started to load (unless its just needed for bash to be able to accept incoming text from ttyS1?)The PROM has code to support serial communications built in. The kernel needs a driver to support the hardware. It's the same as for other devices (disks, network, usb, etc). The drivers can either be built in, or external modules, but it needs a driver either way. The kernel does not use the PROM code to access the hardware, as it might in a PC with a BIOS (e.g. via software interrupts: link (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BIOS_interrupt_call).)

If you load the tty module early (pre tivo rc.sysinit), make sure you tweak the startup scripts so that the tivo rc.sysinit continues after a module load failure, as described here (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?p=303353&highlight=failOk#post303353).

AlphaWolf
07-30-2009, 03:56 PM
So does this mean that after the prom is done doing its work, you lose all serial console output until the kernel module is loaded?

mrpenguin
07-30-2009, 07:54 PM
No, you will still get the serial output, but no input/bash. Basically you can see but no talk. So you can see the error occur and the tivo reboot because of it, but you can't do anything to stop it.

The insmod, bash command line (and the failOk mod if loading early) are needed for the bash prompt and the ability to talk to the console.

Dave20042004
12-21-2011, 12:27 PM
pinouts Nokia CA-42 (http://pinouts.ru/CellularPhones-Nokia/nokia_pop_pinout.shtml)

TiVo HD pinouts labeled on the MB.

Had this CA-42 for awhile, now tying to get it to work, could use some advice:

I plan to cut off the Nokia proprietary connector end and solder the wires on a molex connector.

The pinout link above and it shows a pic of a 14 pin connector, 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8. There is no 4 and no 9-14 labeled on pic.

From the chart, I want RX, TX and GND or 6, 7, and 8 respectively to attach to the TiVoHD serial connector.

My CA-42 has six pins. There is no space where 4 should be missing . Just six adjacent pins. 7388
I labeled my pins 1-6 for ease. My question is:

Which of these six line up to RX, TX and GND respectively?

Thanks in advance,
Dave

PlainBill
12-22-2011, 08:17 AM
You can't. The Nokia cable is for USB communications. The voltage, data rates, and handshake protocols are totally unlike the RS-232 the THD uses. What's more, the Nokia seems to be acting as a peripheral, not as a computer. so you can't even use a USB to RS-232 adapter.

PlainBill

mike_s
12-22-2011, 08:43 AM
Had this CA-42 for awhile, now tying to get it to work, could use some advice:
Which of these six line up to RX, TX and GND respectively?Here's some info (http://buffalo.nas-central.org/index.php/Use_a_Nokia_Serial_Cable_on_an_ARM9_Linkstation) on identifying the signals/wires.

Dave20042004
12-22-2011, 08:32 PM
You can't. The Nokia cable is for USB communications. The voltage, data rates, and handshake protocols are totally unlike the RS-232 the THD uses. What's more, the Nokia seems to be acting as a peripheral, not as a computer. so you can't even use a USB to RS-232 adapter.

PlainBill

Bill
I am assuming this is the RS232 to TTL coverter claimed to work on the TiVoHD (Post #20 of this thread). Therefore, I wasn't clear. I plan to use a USB driver to get the serial output.
Dave

For those following later, I used Mike_S's link to determine that the pins that I labeled 4, 5 and 6 in my pic were in fact pins 6, 7, and 8 from the pinout diagram. After cutting off the end, there were three wires inside. With a DVM I found:
6 = Blue = Rx
7 = Red = Tx
8 = Orange = GND

Thanks Mike_S,
Dave

Dave20042004
10-03-2012, 10:01 PM
I never made this clear in my last post but using the CA-32 cable has worked very well.... sort of:
I have the following two lines in my rc.sysinit.author:

tnlited 23 /bin/bash -login &
tivoftpd

1. I'm using minicom under Mint for my USB serial communications.
2. Starts blasting out information immediately during boot-up, works great!
3. Ends with "rc.sysinit complete", then nothing else.
4. I do not get a bash prompt, can't see my typing. Tivo is running fine.
5. I telnet in from the terminal using ethernet and get my bash prompt.

Now, when I mucked up my drive (presumably bad backup), the data still blasted out immediately for a few seconds but then asks for "password". The wierd thing is that I can type in and see my text at this time. (btw, p/w = "factory" does not work)

I suspect my "tnlited 23 /bin/bash -login &". Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance,
Dave

tivo4mevo
10-04-2012, 10:44 AM
I never made this clear in my last post but using the CA-32 cable has worked very well.... sort of:
I have the following two lines in my rc.sysinit.author:

tnlited 23 /bin/bash -login &
tivoftpd

4. I do not get a bash prompt, can't see my typing. Tivo is running fine.
5. I telnet in from the terminal using ethernet and get my bash prompt.
This is because the lines you added above start only telnet and ftp, and I believe that you also desire to have bash running on the serial port. In which case, you need to add something like this
exec /bin/bash --login </dev/ttyDSS >/dev/ttyDSS& to your start up scripts.


Now, when I mucked up my drive (presumably bad backup), the data still blasted out immediately for a few seconds but then asks for "password". The wierd thing is that I can type in and see my text at this time. (btw, p/w = "factory" does not work)

I suspect my "tnlited 23 /bin/bash -login &". Any suggestions?
What you describe here does sound like a bad disk image. The "password" prompt is the boot ROM (which runs before booting a kernel from the hard disk), so you might want to try restoring from a known good image, or perhaps inspecting the drive from a PC (e.g., bootpage, pdisk, tivopart, etc.) to see if it looks okay.