PDA

View Full Version : Need help getting .ty/.ty+/.tmf files into new S3

mr_zorg
12-12-2007, 04:05 PM
I've been playing with my new S3 and pyTivo (since tivoserver no longer works) and have some observations/questions I'm hoping people can help me with. Sorry if these have been addressed elsewhere, but I'm a noob to the S3 world and couldn't manage to find my answers.

It seems pyTivo really only wants to work with .mpg or .tivo files. I've got a bunch of HD .ty/.ty+/.tmf files from an old HR10-250 TiVo I want to stream over to the S3.
pyTivo attempts to scale/letterbox any .mpg files to a fixed size, unless they're already in a "tivo compatible" format. But, it doesn't seem to be S3 aware and won't handle .mpg files that are HD resolutions or framerates.
I modified transcode.py to be aware of the HD resolutions and framerates, and now it will upload up an .mpg that I created with tytompg unmolested. BUT it doesn't playback smoothly. The original file played fine on my HR10-250, but when "converted" to .mpg and uploaded to the S3 it doesn't. It stutters and glitches. (It's a 1080i/60 file.) So I'm not sure that the ty -> mpg -> s3 is the best way to go.
Is there any way to get a .ty/.ty+/.tmf file onto the S3 (without hacking it)? And/or, any way to convert a .ty/.ty+/.tmf file into a proper .tivo file?
Oh, and what speed is the ethernet jack on an S3? Is it gigabit? I can't seem to find that anywhere. I've got it plugged into a 100Mbps switch, but would it benefit (upload or download) speeds to my computer if I had it on a gigabit switch (the computer is gigabit)?

I greatly appreciate any and all comments, suggestions, ideas, etc. I'm no noob to tivo hacking, just the S3 world... :rolleyes:

Thanks!

bcc
12-12-2007, 06:25 PM