PDA

View Full Version : Modified Tivo as a network encoder

mikesm
01-21-2008, 11:38 PM
Hi. I am a newbie to the tivo hacking community, but have a lot fo experience building high end DVR systems, first with MCE and now with Sage. Given the functionality of s3tots, I was wondering if someone could comment on how hard it would be to turn a tivo S3 into a cablecard network encoder?

What I mean here is that a daemon would run on the S3, listen for commands on a socket from a PVR system like MythTV or SageTV, receive a command to tune to a specific channel, and then stream the MPEG2 data over it's ethernet port to the MythTV or SageTV server.

This would have several advantages:

1) You get all the benefits of a distributed DVR system like SageTv or MythTV, including automatic commercial skip, ease of burning to DVD, distributed client support and cheap extenders (at least with Sage), consolidated interface to ripped media, as well as recorded TV, etc...

2) No need to expand disk space on the Tivo, since the programs wouldn't need to be stored there anymore.

3) No tivo subscription would be needed, since the EPG and such are provided through the PVR system. All the tivo does in this scenario is manage the mapping of channels to specific carriers and subprograms, the cablecard security, and streaming the resulting content over the LAN.

Is there anything about the tivo system that would prevent this scenario from being actualized?

Sage supports network encoders for things the the R5000-HD modification to cable and DBS boxes, the older non- BDA HDHomerun, etc.... And this would be I think pretty easy to integrate into MythTV as well.

Comments?

bcc
01-22-2008, 07:46 PM
I don't see a technical roadblock to such a thing, so long as you aren't making real-time a requirement.

If you're thinking of packaging tivo hacks into a for-sale sagetv product, there may be licensing/copyright issues.

mikesm
01-22-2008, 08:41 PM