PDA

View Full Version : Got a HD10-250



madwand
02-24-2008, 11:57 PM
I just ebay purchased a 10-250 and I'm trying to figure out how to fix a few minor issues:

1) It seems to lock up any time I try a "search by title". I can season pass and record through the guide though. It's currently at software 3.1### and I'm hoping that an update will fix this.

2) The HDMI out won't work with my TV. It says "HDCP not enabled". I've searched the forums and it looks like this is a receiver/tv incompatibility. Perhaps by hacking it there's a software bypass I haven't found?

3) Is there any way to force a software update? I'm guessing an upgrade to 6.x would be better before hacking it. I intend to take a good backup and see how it works before downloading and replacing the official image.

For that matter I haven't hacked one in a few years (since I got the SA 4.x running on my Hughes HDVR2) so any current guides and pointers would be much appreciated. (Yes, I'm browsing the threads, but it looks like I would have to start with "Hacking your Tivo in 2004" and then scan through threads for the massive amount of changes since..)

Thanks for the assist,
-Eric

jwciv
02-25-2008, 09:24 AM
I just ebay purchased a 10-250 and I'm trying to figure out how to fix a few minor issues:

3) Is there any way to force a software update?

so any current guides and pointers would be much appreciated.

Thanks for the assist,
-Eric

for #3, if it's subbed, call DirecTV and ask them to put you in queue for an update, you'll probably have it overnight.

If it's not subbed, you're probably out of luck for a sat download. When the slices were in the stream, you used a script named "add6x.tcl" or something along those lines. I highly doubt its in the stream any longer.

There are also links to slices and possibly images in the "begging" thread
for guides, this (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?t=51032&highlight=hr10-250) is a good place to start and its only five pages:

madwand
02-26-2008, 12:23 AM
for #3, if it's subbed, call DirecTV and ask them to put you in queue for an update, you'll probably have it overnight.


I gave that a try but they were absolutely clueless about any receiver that wasn't a directv software box. The lady said she set me up for the only update she can push and it's been almost 24 hours without any noticeable change on my receiver. I'll reset it tomorrow and see if it's been updated.

Thanks,
Eric

captain_video
02-26-2008, 08:52 AM
I just ebay purchased a 10-250 and I'm trying to figure out how to fix a few minor issues:

1) It seems to lock up any time I try a "search by title". I can season pass and record through the guide though. It's currently at software 3.1### and I'm hoping that an update will fix this.

2) The HDMI out won't work with my TV. It says "HDCP not enabled". I've searched the forums and it looks like this is a receiver/tv incompatibility. Perhaps by hacking it there's a software bypass I haven't found?

3) Is there any way to force a software update? I'm guessing an upgrade to 6.x would be better before hacking it. I intend to take a good backup and see how it works before downloading and replacing the official image.

For that matter I haven't hacked one in a few years (since I got the SA 4.x running on my Hughes HDVR2) so any current guides and pointers would be much appreciated. (Yes, I'm browsing the threads, but it looks like I would have to start with "Hacking your Tivo in 2004" and then scan through threads for the massive amount of changes since..)

Thanks for the assist,
-Eric
1) You may have to install a software update manually since yours is considerably out of date. There comes a time when the software version on the Tivo simply gets too old and may not allow an update to take place. This was true with the older series 1 DTivos stuck at 2.5.2 or older but it may or may not be the case with the HDTivos running 3.1.x.

2) It sounds like your TV may be the problem. Try using the component outputs instead of HDMI. You probably won't notice any diffeence in the picture quality.

3) Leave the HDTivo connected to the dish and monitor the phonhe status menu. If it says "Pending restart" then you've taken the update and it will be installed upon the next reboot. You may also be able to download an update that's been taken out of the datastream by forcing several calls.

4) Next time, please post in the correct section. You happened to choose the one forum that does NOT deal with Tivos (i.e., the HR20 is a DirecTV branded homebrew DVR and is not a Tivo).