PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of Buying a Series 3 cablecard Tivo



jphudy
03-31-2008, 07:20 PM
I'm thinking of buying a series 3 cablecard tivo. Presently, I have directv with 3 HDVR2 boxes.

One of the HDVR2 boxes has been hacked to provide Home media option.

My question is this. Can I use the HDVR2 boxes as "media extenders" connected to a series 3 tivo with cablecard. (To share shows, and such??)

ciper
04-01-2008, 05:04 PM
Are you sure want the S3 and not a THD?

This is all from memory so take it with a grain of salt. Recordings on the 5th/6th generation Tivos get reencoded on the fly during transfers to older units so the size increases and the transfer isn't as fast as it could be. Otherwise I'm thinking it will work but TCF would be a better place to double check.

jt1134
04-01-2008, 05:17 PM
My question is this. Can I use the HDVR2 boxes as "media extenders" connected to a series 3 tivo with cablecard. (To share shows, and such??)

Not directly no. You can't use MRV between S3 units and directivo's. You could take the long route and pull shows off the S3 to your pc and convert it mpg, then use tivoserver to send it to the directivos.