PDA

View Full Version : Run Series 3 With NO internal drive?



evade
05-12-2008, 10:00 AM
I would like to pull the drive from my S3, and either mfsclone it to an esata drive or put it in an esata case and boot from it. Then if I need to redo my hacks I just plug in my linux laptop with an esata express card. No need to open the box.

Has anyone done this? Will it work with the existing esata port or will I have to use a sata to esata bracket on the primary drive port.

Jamie
05-12-2008, 10:26 AM
Yes, it works fine: [link (http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?t=58326)]. There may be an issue with insufficient load on the power supply, as described in that thread.

evade
05-12-2008, 10:47 AM
Thanks for the quick response.

Sounds like maybe I should run a two drive configuration with the sata ports reversed. That way the internal drive is mfs storage only and the external drive contains OS and hacks.

lrhorer
05-26-2008, 04:39 PM
That also will work, and has its own advantages. Note I am only running a single external drive configuration on my TiVo HD, and I am having no problems with my power supply. Nonetheless, as always YMMV, Caveat Emptor, swim at your own risk, etc.